Private For-Profit Graduate Fair 49/100

Strayer University-Global Region

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Washington, District of Columbia

About Strayer University-Global Region

Thinking about Strayer University-Global Region, a college in District of Columbia where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Strayer University-Global Region is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Washington, District of Columbia. It enrolls 9,376 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
15.5%
Net Price
$17,833
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,092
Enrollment
9,376
Student : Faculty
39:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
49/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 10
Value 33
Affordability 53
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Strayer University-Global Region does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $17,833 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$17,833
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
54%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
57%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$13,920
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,438
Books & Supplies
$675
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,125
Total Cost of Attendance
$25,158

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,167
10% percentile
$4,667
25% percentile
$40,621
Median percentile
$26,250
75% percentile
$43,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,973 ↓ $26,648
No Pell $14,414 ↓ $26,207
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $35,121
Independent students $15,040 ↓ $25,581
Female students $14,475 ↓ $26,146
Male students $12,500 ↓ $28,121
Pell recipients: 18.4% (7,478 students)No Pell: 19.0% (7,714 students)Dependent students: 7.2% (2,943 students)Independent students: 19.8% (8,049 students)Female students: 19.1% (7,747 students)Male students: 16.5% (6,690 students)Overall Median$40,621
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $12,592, less than completers ($40,621), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

15% of students who start here finish within six years, and 39% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
15%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
39%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,092 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,092
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$36,000$37,000$38,500$39,500$40,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$47,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$65,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$39,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$54,200

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$74,700

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $18,500, about 28% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 27.4 pts across 6 years
33.8%1yr42.4%3yr52%5yr61.2%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 61% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 9,376 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 54% are the first in their family to go to college, and 96% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
9,376
Part-Time
96%
First-Generation
54%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 48.7% 4,561
Black 28.5% 2,669
Hispanic 14.1% 1,323
Other 5.9% 556
Asian 1.1% 105
International 0.1% 7
White: 48.7% (4,561 students)Black: 28.5% (2,669 students)Hispanic: 14.1% (1,323 students)Other: 5.9% (556 students)Asian: 1.1% (105 students)International: 0.1% (7 students)Total9,376

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Strayer University-Global Region. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Washington, District of Columbia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
89% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Computer Science graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Strayer University-Global Region offers a varied set of programs: 24 distinct programs across 6 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

13 Programs
5 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 39 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
39:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Strayer University-Global Region

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Strayer University-Global Region is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Strayer University-Global Region is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Strayer University-Global Region

The questions families ask most about Strayer University-Global Region, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Strayer University-Global Region cost?
Budget around $17,833 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Strayer University-Global Region worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,092 a year against a net price of $17,833, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Strayer University-Global Region known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business, Business. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Strayer University-Global Region graduates earn?
About $40,092 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Strayer University-Global Region accredited?
Yes. Strayer University-Global Region is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Strayer University-Global Region?
9,376 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Strayer University-Global Region?
15% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Strayer University-Global Region a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Strayer University-Global Region located?
Strayer University-Global Region is located in Washington, District of Columbia.
What programs does Strayer University-Global Region offer?
24 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business, Business. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Strayer University-Global Region?
39 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.