Trinity Washington University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Washington, District of Columbia. It enrolls 1,414 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
70/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes29
Value94
Affordability91
Selectivity1
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Trinity Washington University admits 99.5% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
99.5%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Trinity Washington University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Stable ↑
2.5 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,302 a year on average, it sits well below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$26,610
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,180
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,990
Books & Supplies
$1,080
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,320
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,880
Total Cost of Attendance
$33,903
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$7,928
$30,001 – $48,000
$8,554
$48,001 – $75,000
$8,502
$75,001 – $110,000
$13,623
Over $110,000
$15,307
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$3,50010%percentile
$6,31625%percentile
$28,250Medianpercentile
$32,30375%percentile
$46,72090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $19,875
↓ $8,375
No Pell $14,325
↓ $13,925
Dependent students $18,500
↓ $9,750
Independent students $20,253
↓ $7,997
Female students $19,368
↓ $8,882
Male students $17,750
↓ $10,500
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($28,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
37% of students who start here finish within six years, and 70% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
37%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
70%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $53,804 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$53,804
Earning > $25K
75%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$35,100
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$45,700
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$53,800
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
17.2 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 57% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,414 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
1,414
Part-Time
33%
First-Generation
53%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Black 58.3%824
Hispanic 32.1%454
Other 2.8%39
White 1.0%14
International 0.9%12
Asian 0.7%10
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Trinity Washington University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Trinity Washington University offers
a varied set of programs:
38 distinct programs across
13 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$116M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$71,352
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
60 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
4
7%
$85,995
Associate Professors
20
33%
$77,250
Assistant Professors
34
57%
$69,709
Instructors
2
3%
$63,763
Pros & Cons of Trinity Washington University
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Trinity Washington University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
Modest first-year retention
Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for:
Based on the data, Trinity Washington University is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Trinity Washington University
The questions families ask most about Trinity Washington University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Trinity Washington University hard to get into?
Not especially. Trinity Washington University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 99.5%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Trinity Washington University?
99.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Trinity Washington University cost?
Budget around $9,302 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Trinity Washington University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $53,804 a year against a net price of $9,302, about 5.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Trinity Washington University known for?
Mostly Health Sciences, Liberal Arts, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Trinity Washington University graduates earn?
About $53,804 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Trinity Washington University accredited?
Yes. Trinity Washington University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Trinity Washington University?
1,414 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Trinity Washington University?
37% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Trinity Washington University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Trinity Washington University located?
Trinity Washington University is located in Washington, District of Columbia.
What programs does Trinity Washington University offer?
38 different programs, most commonly Health Sciences, Liberal Arts, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Trinity Washington University?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in District of Columbia
Other colleges in District of Columbia share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.