Public Certificate Strong 73/100

TCAT Athens

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Athens, Tennessee

About TCAT Athens

Thinking about TCAT Athens, a college in Tennessee where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

TCAT Athens is a public institution offering certificate degrees based in Athens, Tennessee. It enrolls 205 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
81.6%
Net Price
$12,758
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,540
Enrollment
205
Student : Faculty
25:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
73/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 81
Value 44
Affordability 45
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, TCAT Athens admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,758 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,758
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
36%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $10,299
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,169
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $17,963
What this means: 36% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

82% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
82%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,540 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,540
Earning > $25K
69%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$38,500$39,000$39,500$40,000$41,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$30,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,900

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,000, about 16% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.2 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 205 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 63% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
205
Part-Time
9%
First-Generation
63%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 80.5% 165
Hispanic 7.8% 16
Black 5.9% 12
Other 2.4% 5
Asian 0.5% 1
White: 80.5% (165 students)Hispanic: 7.8% (16 students)Black: 5.9% (12 students)Other: 2.4% (5 students)Asian: 0.5% (1 students)Total205

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at TCAT Athens. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Athens, Tennessee
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
42% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

TCAT Athens offers a focused set of programs: 6 distinct programs across 5 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 25 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
25:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$20,472
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student

Pros & Cons of TCAT Athens

No college is right for everyone. Here is where TCAT Athens is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, TCAT Athens is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about TCAT Athens

The questions families ask most about TCAT Athens, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is TCAT Athens hard to get into?
Not especially. TCAT Athens admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at TCAT Athens?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does TCAT Athens cost?
Budget around $12,758 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is TCAT Athens worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,540 a year against a net price of $12,758, about 3.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is TCAT Athens known for?
Mostly Practical Nursing, Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Precision Metal Working. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do TCAT Athens graduates earn?
About $40,540 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is TCAT Athens accredited?
Yes. TCAT Athens is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend TCAT Athens?
205 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at TCAT Athens?
82% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is TCAT Athens a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is TCAT Athens located?
TCAT Athens is located in Athens, Tennessee.
What programs does TCAT Athens offer?
6 different programs, most commonly Practical Nursing, Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Precision Metal Working. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at TCAT Athens?
25 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.