Public Certificate Strong 74/100

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Morristown, Tennessee

About Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown

Thinking about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown, a college in Tennessee where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown is a public institution offering certificate degrees based in Morristown, Tennessee. It enrolls 642 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
69.5%
Net Price
$15,910
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,837
Enrollment
642
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
74/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 90
Value 34
Affordability 52
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $15,910 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$15,910
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
51%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $15,449
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $16,198
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $17,052
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,663
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 51% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

69% of students who start here finish within six years, and 83% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
69%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
83%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,837 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,837
Earning > $25K
65%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,500$36,000$37,000$38,000$39,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$25,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$30,900

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$2.4 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 642 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 64% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
642
Part-Time
9%
First-Generation
64%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 83.3% 535
Hispanic 11.7% 75
Other 2.3% 15
Black 1.6% 10
International 0.5% 3
Asian 0.3% 2
White: 83.3% (535 students)Hispanic: 11.7% (75 students)Other: 2.3% (15 students)Black: 1.6% (10 students)International: 0.5% (3 students)Asian: 0.3% (2 students)Total642

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Morristown, Tennessee
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
21% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Precision Production graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown offers a varied set of programs: 14 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$10,984
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student

Pros & Cons of Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown

The questions families ask most about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown hard to get into?
Not especially. Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown cost?
Budget around $15,910 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,837 a year against a net price of $15,910, about 2.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown known for?
Mostly Precision Metal Working, Practical Nursing, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown graduates earn?
About $38,837 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown accredited?
Yes. Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown?
642 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown?
69% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown located?
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown is located in Morristown, Tennessee.
What programs does Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown offer?
14 different programs, most commonly Precision Metal Working, Practical Nursing, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.