Public Associate Good 58/100

Texarkana College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Texarkana, Texas

About Texarkana College

Thinking about Texarkana College, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Texarkana College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Texarkana, Texas. It enrolls 1,502 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
22.6%
Net Price
$8,812
Median Earnings (10yr)
$34,647
Enrollment
1,502
Student : Faculty
21:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 29
Value 54
Affordability 43
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Texarkana College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,812 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$8,812
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
26%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
7%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,476
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$5,332
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,483
Books & Supplies
$1,678
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,042
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,998

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,996
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $7,865
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,907
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $13,162
  • Over $110,000
    $15,660

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$10,500
Median percentile
$13,113
75% percentile
$21,586
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 ↓ $1,000
No Pell $6,855 ↓ $3,645
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $5,000
Independent students $10,000 ↓ $500
Female students $9,500 ↓ $1,000
Male students $8,344 ↓ $2,156
Pell recipients: 19.1% (2,007 students)No Pell: 13.8% (1,448 students)Dependent students: 11.1% (1,162 students)Independent students: 20.1% (2,113 students)Female students: 19.1% (2,007 students)Male students: 16.8% (1,763 students)Overall Median$10,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,205, close to what completers borrow ($10,500) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

23% of students who start here finish within six years, and 47% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
23%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
47%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,647 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,647
Earning > $25K
57%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,000$31,000$33,000$34,000$35,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,700, about 27% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.9 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,502 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college, and 55% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,502
Part-Time
55%
First-Generation
47%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 51.3% 770
Black 29.4% 442
Hispanic 11.4% 171
Other 4.7% 70
International 0.9% 13
Asian 0.7% 11
White: 51.3% (770 students)Black: 29.4% (442 students)Hispanic: 11.4% (171 students)Other: 4.7% (70 students)International: 0.9% (13 students)Asian: 0.7% (11 students)Total1,502

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Texarkana College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Texarkana, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
20% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Texarkana College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 44 distinct programs across 18 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
6 Programs
4 Programs
3 Programs
5 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 21 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
21:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,786
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$16M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$53,561
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

80 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 14 18% $71,609
Associate Professors 36 45% $58,028
Assistant Professors 14 18% $53,587
Instructors 16 20% $43,439

Pros & Cons of Texarkana College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Texarkana College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Texarkana College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Texarkana College

The questions families ask most about Texarkana College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Texarkana College hard to get into?
Not especially. Texarkana College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Texarkana College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Texarkana College cost?
Budget around $8,812 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Texarkana College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,647 a year against a net price of $8,812, about 3.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Texarkana College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Precision Metal Working. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Texarkana College graduates earn?
About $34,647 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Texarkana College accredited?
Yes. Texarkana College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Texarkana College?
1,502 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Texarkana College?
23% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Texarkana College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Texarkana College located?
Texarkana College is located in Texarkana, Texas.
What programs does Texarkana College offer?
44 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Precision Metal Working. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Texarkana College?
21 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.