Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Strong 75/100

Thomas More College of Liberal Arts

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Merrimack, New Hampshire

About Thomas More College of Liberal Arts

Thinking about Thomas More College of Liberal Arts, a college in New Hampshire where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Thomas More College of Liberal Arts is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Merrimack, New Hampshire. It enrolls 97 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$18,489
Median Earnings (10yr)
$53,565
Enrollment
97
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
75/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 87
Value 44
Affordability 45
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Thomas More College of Liberal Arts does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $18,489 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$18,489
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
45%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
82%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$30,400
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,000
Books & Supplies
$600
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,800
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,800
Total Cost of Attendance
$42,082

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $10,433
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $12,637
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,819
  • Over $110,000
    $23,826

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$25,000
Median percentile
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 45% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

90% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
90%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $53,565 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$53,565
Earning > $25K
81%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$25,000$35,000$40,000$50,000$55,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$2.9 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 97 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
97
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 77.3% 75
Hispanic 5.2% 5
Other 3.1% 3
Asian 2.1% 2
International 2.1% 2
White: 77.3% (75 students)Hispanic: 5.2% (5 students)Other: 3.1% (3 students)Asian: 2.1% (2 students)International: 2.1% (2 students)Total97

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Thomas More College of Liberal Arts. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize Suburb Merrimack, New Hampshire
Housing
Strongly residential 92 beds for 97 students
Adult Learners
7% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

Thomas More College of Liberal Arts offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$5.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,593
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

8 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 8 100% $50,593

Pros & Cons of Thomas More College of Liberal Arts

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Thomas More College of Liberal Arts is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Thomas More College of Liberal Arts is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Thomas More College of Liberal Arts

The questions families ask most about Thomas More College of Liberal Arts, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Thomas More College of Liberal Arts cost?
Budget around $18,489 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Thomas More College of Liberal Arts worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $53,565 a year against a net price of $18,489, about 2.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Thomas More College of Liberal Arts known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Thomas More College of Liberal Arts graduates earn?
About $53,565 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Thomas More College of Liberal Arts accredited?
Yes. Thomas More College of Liberal Arts is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Thomas More College of Liberal Arts?
97 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Thomas More College of Liberal Arts a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Thomas More College of Liberal Arts located?
Thomas More College of Liberal Arts is located in Merrimack, New Hampshire.
What programs does Thomas More College of Liberal Arts offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Thomas More College of Liberal Arts?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.