Universidad Central de Bayamon is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Bayamón, Puerto Rico. It enrolls 539 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorMiddle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
79/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes37
Value92
Affordability99
Selectivity68
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Universidad Central de Bayamon admits 65.9% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.
Acceptance Rate
65.9%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Universidad Central de Bayamon is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
9.1 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $4,827 a year on average, it sits well below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$5,986
Room & Board (on-campus)
$5,962
Room & Board (off-campus)
$5,962
Books & Supplies
$1,504
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,409
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,409
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,976
Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$3,827
$30,001 – $48,000
$4,662
$48,001 – $75,000
$8,323
$75,001 – $110,000
$7,729
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,00010%percentile
$3,34025%percentile
$9,393Medianpercentile
$12,87575%percentile
$18,69590%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,250
↓ $2,143
No Pell $6,750
↓ $2,643
Dependent students $5,788
↓ $3,605
Independent students $10,250
↑ $857
Female students $8,000
↓ $1,393
Male students $5,500
↓ $3,893
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,875, less than completers ($9,393), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
27% of students who start here finish within six years, and 80% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
27%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
80%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $25,021 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$25,021
Earning > $25K
38%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$20,200
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$24,300
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Stable ↑
4.3 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 51% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 539 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 31% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
539
Part-Time
23%
First-Generation
31%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 99.1%534
International 0.9%5
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Universidad Central de Bayamon. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Universidad Central de Bayamon offers
a varied set of programs:
35 distinct programs across
10 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$19M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$25,473
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
12 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
2
17%
$33,053
Associate Professors
5
42%
$27,432
Assistant Professors
1
8%
$22,320
Instructors
4
33%
$21,476
Pros & Cons of Universidad Central de Bayamon
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Universidad Central de Bayamon is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for:
Based on the data, Universidad Central de Bayamon is a fit for
families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Universidad Central de Bayamon
The questions families ask most about Universidad Central de Bayamon, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Universidad Central de Bayamon hard to get into?
Admissions at Universidad Central de Bayamon are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 65.9%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Universidad Central de Bayamon?
65.9% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Universidad Central de Bayamon cost?
Budget around $4,827 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Universidad Central de Bayamon worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $25,021 a year against a net price of $4,827, about 5.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Universidad Central de Bayamon known for?
Mostly Nursing, Mental Health Services, Social Work. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Universidad Central de Bayamon graduates earn?
About $25,021 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Universidad Central de Bayamon accredited?
Yes. Universidad Central de Bayamon is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Universidad Central de Bayamon?
539 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Universidad Central de Bayamon?
27% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Universidad Central de Bayamon a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Universidad Central de Bayamon located?
Universidad Central de Bayamon is located in Bayamón, Puerto Rico.
What programs does Universidad Central de Bayamon offer?
35 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Mental Health Services, Social Work. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Universidad Central de Bayamon?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Puerto Rico
Other colleges in Puerto Rico share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.