University of Arkansas at Monticello is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Monticello, Arkansas. It enrolls 1,933 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
68/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes68
Value38
Affordability55
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
University of Arkansas at Monticello does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,287 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$9,292
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$14,857
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,600
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,900
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,230
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,830
Total Cost of Attendance
$22,519
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$13,626
$30,001 – $48,000
$12,896
$48,001 – $75,000
$14,792
$75,001 – $110,000
$17,532
Over $110,000
$17,741
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,68410%percentile
$3,75025%percentile
$19,971Medianpercentile
$16,12675%percentile
$28,73790%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,000
↓ $7,971
No Pell $9,500
↓ $10,471
Dependent students $11,000
↓ $8,971
Independent students $12,500
↓ $7,471
Female students $12,000
↓ $7,971
Male students $10,577
↓ $9,394
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,673, less than completers ($19,971), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
28% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
28%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,902 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,902
Earning > $25K
62%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$30,000
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$43,600
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$31,200
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$39,600
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$45,000
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $13,600, about 31% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Declining: debt management worsening over time ↓
7.8 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 66% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,933 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 45% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
1,933
Part-Time
17%
First-Generation
45%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 53.2%1,029
Black 31.3%604
Hispanic 9.5%184
Other 5.1%98
International 0.7%14
Asian 0.2%4
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at University of Arkansas at Monticello. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
University of Arkansas at Monticello offers
an extensive catalog of programs:
58 distinct programs across
22 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$11,554
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$5.0M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$53,126
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
151 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
20
13%
$69,940
Associate Professors
37
25%
$57,402
Assistant Professors
30
20%
$54,820
Instructors
64
42%
$44,605
Pros & Cons of University of Arkansas at Monticello
No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of Arkansas at Monticello is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
Modest first-year retention
Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Frequently Asked Questions about University of Arkansas at Monticello
The questions families ask most about University of Arkansas at Monticello, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does University of Arkansas at Monticello cost?
Budget around $14,287 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Arkansas at Monticello worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,902 a year against a net price of $14,287, about 2.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of Arkansas at Monticello known for?
Mostly Teacher Education (K-12), Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of Arkansas at Monticello graduates earn?
About $36,902 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Arkansas at Monticello accredited?
Yes. University of Arkansas at Monticello is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend University of Arkansas at Monticello?
1,933 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of Arkansas at Monticello?
28% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of Arkansas at Monticello a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is University of Arkansas at Monticello located?
University of Arkansas at Monticello is located in Monticello, Arkansas.
What programs does University of Arkansas at Monticello offer?
58 different programs, most commonly Teacher Education (K-12), Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of Arkansas at Monticello?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Arkansas
Other colleges in Arkansas share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Counseling Education
Teacher Education (K-12)
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.