University of Massachusetts Global is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Aliso Viejo, California. It enrolls 4,491 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Academic CalendarTrimester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
53/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes45
Value27
Affordability14
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
University of Massachusetts Global does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether University of Massachusetts Global is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $32,654 a year on average, it sits in line with what public colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$12,540
Room & Board (off-campus)
$19,632
Books & Supplies
$1,056
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,160
Total Cost of Attendance
$35,325
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$31,963
$30,001 – $48,000
$31,782
$48,001 – $75,000
$33,209
$75,001 – $110,000
$35,325
Over $110,000
$35,325
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$4,16610%percentile
$7,86625%percentile
$24,276Medianpercentile
$25,00075%percentile
$35,50090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $21,000
↓ $3,276
No Pell $14,000
↓ $10,276
Dependent students $14,000
↓ $10,276
Independent students $19,780
↓ $4,496
Female students $19,423
↓ $4,853
Male students $16,590
↓ $7,686
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $12,500, less than completers ($24,276), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
42% of students who start here finish within six years, and 52% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
42%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
52%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $65,703 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$65,703
Earning > $25K
83%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
7.8 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 58% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 4,491 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 50% are the first in their family to go to college, and 52% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
4,491
Part-Time
52%
First-Generation
50%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 61.1%2,742
Black 13.4%603
Other 8.8%397
Asian 5.1%227
Hispanic 2.9%132
International 0.0%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at University of Massachusetts Global. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
University of Massachusetts Global offers
a varied set of programs:
38 distinct programs across
12 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 28 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
28:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,672
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$86,632
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
82 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
20
24%
$96,403
Associate Professors
38
46%
$85,724
Assistant Professors
24
29%
$79,927
Pros & Cons of University of Massachusetts Global
No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of Massachusetts Global is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for:
Based on the data, University of Massachusetts Global is a fit for
working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings.
Frequently Asked Questions about University of Massachusetts Global
The questions families ask most about University of Massachusetts Global, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does University of Massachusetts Global cost?
Budget around $32,654 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Massachusetts Global worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $65,703 a year against a net price of $32,654, about 2.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of Massachusetts Global known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business Administration, Counseling Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of Massachusetts Global graduates earn?
About $65,703 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Massachusetts Global accredited?
Yes. University of Massachusetts Global is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
How many students attend University of Massachusetts Global?
4,491 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of Massachusetts Global?
42% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of Massachusetts Global a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is University of Massachusetts Global located?
University of Massachusetts Global is located in Aliso Viejo, California.
What programs does University of Massachusetts Global offer?
38 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business Administration, Counseling Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of Massachusetts Global?
28 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in California
Other colleges in California share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Liberal Arts
Liberal Arts
Biological and Physical Sciences
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.