Public Graduate Good 62/100

University of Montevallo

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Montevallo, Alabama

About University of Montevallo

Thinking about University of Montevallo, a college in Alabama where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

University of Montevallo is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Montevallo, Alabama. It enrolls 2,151 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
53.9%
Graduation
54.3%
Net Price
$17,683
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,957
Enrollment
2,151
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 40
Value 39
Affordability 56
Selectivity 61

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

University of Montevallo admits 53.9% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
53.9%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether University of Montevallo is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 0.7 pts since 2019
53.2%201960.5%202090.1%202159.8%202253.9%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $17,683 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$17,683
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
32%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
41%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$13,948
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$26,968
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,372
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,372
Books & Supplies
$1,020
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,180
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,180
Total Cost of Attendance
$27,398

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $14,471
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $16,104
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $18,615
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $20,357
  • Over $110,000
    $21,873

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,750
10% percentile
$6,500
25% percentile
$24,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$36,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $18,500 ↓ $5,500
No Pell $13,000 ↓ $11,000
Dependent students $15,372 ↓ $8,628
Independent students $18,750 ↓ $5,250
Female students $17,000 ↓ $7,000
Male students $13,000 ↓ $11,000
Pell recipients: 19.3% (4,643 students)No Pell: 13.6% (3,263 students)Dependent students: 16.1% (3,858 students)Independent students: 19.6% (4,706 students)Female students: 17.8% (4,267 students)Male students: 13.6% (3,263 students)Overall Median$24,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $11,000, less than completers ($24,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

54% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
54%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,957 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,957
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,000$37,000$39,000$42,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$41,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$34,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$36,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$37,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,800, about 21% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 21.7 pts across 6 years
55.2%1yr62.6%3yr73.5%5yr76.9%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 77% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,151 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 33% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,151
Part-Time
6%
First-Generation
33%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 64.7% 1,392
Black 16.1% 346
Hispanic 7.5% 162
Other 4.0% 86
International 3.9% 84
Asian 0.6% 13
White: 64.7% (1,392 students)Black: 16.1% (346 students)Hispanic: 7.5% (162 students)Other: 4.0% (86 students)International: 3.9% (84 students)Asian: 0.6% (13 students)Total2,151

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at University of Montevallo. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Fringe Montevallo, Alabama
Housing
Mostly residential 1,373 beds on campus
Adult Learners
6% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

University of Montevallo offers a varied set of programs: 38 distinct programs across 18 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$14,030
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$38M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$76,937
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

155 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 52 34% $91,915
Associate Professors 42 27% $76,442
Assistant Professors 35 23% $71,751
Instructors 26 17% $54,761

Pros & Cons of University of Montevallo

No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of Montevallo is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
CONS
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention

Frequently Asked Questions about University of Montevallo

The questions families ask most about University of Montevallo, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is University of Montevallo hard to get into?
Admissions at University of Montevallo are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 53.9%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Montevallo?
53.9% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does University of Montevallo cost?
Budget around $17,683 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Montevallo worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,957 a year against a net price of $17,683, about 2.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of Montevallo known for?
Mostly Fine Arts, Counseling Education, Kinesiology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of Montevallo graduates earn?
About $42,957 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Montevallo accredited?
Yes. University of Montevallo is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend University of Montevallo?
2,151 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of Montevallo?
54% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of Montevallo a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is University of Montevallo located?
University of Montevallo is located in Montevallo, Alabama.
What programs does University of Montevallo offer?
38 different programs, most commonly Fine Arts, Counseling Education, Kinesiology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of Montevallo?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.