Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 54/100

University of Rio Grande

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Rio Grande, Ohio

About University of Rio Grande

Thinking about University of Rio Grande, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

University of Rio Grande is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Rio Grande, Ohio. It enrolls 1,400 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
27.4%
Net Price
$23,686
Median Earnings (10yr)
$41,478
Enrollment
1,400
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 44
Value 21
Affordability 32
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

University of Rio Grande does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $23,686 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$23,686
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
54%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$20,560
Room & Board (on-campus)
$10,500
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,500
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,028
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,888
Total Cost of Attendance
$33,716

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $21,776
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $22,733
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $24,432
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $27,008
  • Over $110,000
    $25,788

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$17,750
Median percentile
$22,776
75% percentile
$36,584
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,000 ↓ $5,750
No Pell $11,000 ↓ $6,750
Dependent students $11,000 ↓ $6,750
Independent students $13,000 ↓ $4,750
Female students $12,000 ↓ $5,750
Male students $11,000 ↓ $6,750
Pell recipients: 17.1% (3,043 students)No Pell: 15.7% (2,789 students)Dependent students: 15.7% (2,789 students)Independent students: 18.6% (3,296 students)Female students: 17.1% (3,043 students)Male students: 15.7% (2,789 students)Overall Median$17,750
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($17,750), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

27% of students who start here finish within six years, and 60% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
27%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
60%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $41,478 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$41,478
Earning > $25K
66%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$34,000$37,000$40,000$43,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$32,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$42,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$30,600

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$45,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,000, about 24% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 12.0 pts across 6 years
48.4%1yr52.1%3yr66.7%5yr60.3%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 60% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,400 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,400
Part-Time
20%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 63.1% 883
International 10.8% 151
Black 3.9% 54
Hispanic 1.1% 16
Other 1.1% 16
Asian 0.4% 5
White: 63.1% (883 students)International: 10.8% (151 students)Black: 3.9% (54 students)Hispanic: 1.1% (16 students)Other: 1.1% (16 students)Asian: 0.4% (5 students)Total1,400

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at University of Rio Grande. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Rio Grande, Ohio
Housing
Partly residential 515 beds available
Adult Learners
17% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

University of Rio Grande offers an extensive catalog of programs: 43 distinct programs across 21 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$33M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$57,925
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

66 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 11 17% $79,279
Associate Professors 6 9% $62,919
Assistant Professors 30 45% $62,531
Instructors 19 29% $36,711

Pros & Cons of University of Rio Grande

No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of Rio Grande is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, University of Rio Grande is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about University of Rio Grande

The questions families ask most about University of Rio Grande, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does University of Rio Grande cost?
Budget around $23,686 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Rio Grande worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $41,478 a year against a net price of $23,686, about 1.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of Rio Grande known for?
Mostly Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic, Liberal Arts. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of Rio Grande graduates earn?
About $41,478 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Rio Grande accredited?
Yes. University of Rio Grande is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend University of Rio Grande?
1,400 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of Rio Grande?
27% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of Rio Grande a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is University of Rio Grande located?
University of Rio Grande is located in Rio Grande, Ohio.
What programs does University of Rio Grande offer?
43 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic, Liberal Arts. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of Rio Grande?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.