Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 56/100

University of the Incarnate Word

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

San Antonio, Texas

About University of the Incarnate Word

Thinking about University of the Incarnate Word, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

University of the Incarnate Word is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in San Antonio, Texas. It enrolls 4,440 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
98.1%
Graduation
52.4%
Net Price
$22,775
Median Earnings (10yr)
$56,733
Enrollment
4,440
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
56/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 34
Value 42
Affordability 57
Selectivity 8

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

University of the Incarnate Word admits 98.1% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
98.1%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether University of the Incarnate Word is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↓ 0.4 pts since 2019
93.8%201996.6%202094.2%202194.2%202293.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,775 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,775
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
45%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
49%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$37,090
Room & Board (on-campus)
$14,296
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,048
Books & Supplies
$250
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,442
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,442
Total Cost of Attendance
$48,681

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $19,260
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $19,487
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,950
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $25,084
  • Over $110,000
    $31,539

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$9,029
25% percentile
$27,000
Median percentile
$31,000
75% percentile
$42,056
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $23,000 ↓ $4,000
No Pell $16,848 ↓ $10,152
Dependent students $19,500 ↓ $7,500
Independent students $24,166 ↓ $2,834
Female students $21,500 ↓ $5,500
Male students $20,197 ↓ $6,803
Pell recipients: 18.4% (4,960 students)No Pell: 13.5% (3,633 students)Dependent students: 15.6% (4,205 students)Independent students: 19.3% (5,211 students)Female students: 17.2% (4,636 students)Male students: 16.1% (4,355 students)Overall Median$27,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $10,512, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

52% of students who start here finish within six years, and 72% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
52%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
72%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $56,733 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$56,733
Earning > $25K
80%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$46,000$49,000$52,000$55,000$58,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$50,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$57,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$47,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$55,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$55,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,200, about 13% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 21.1 pts across 6 years
50.9%1yr58.3%3yr67.7%5yr72%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 4,440 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 43% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
4,440
Part-Time
10%
First-Generation
43%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 65.7% 2,919
White 15.2% 673
Black 7.4% 327
International 3.1% 138
Other 2.9% 130
Asian 2.6% 114
Hispanic: 65.7% (2,919 students)White: 15.2% (673 students)Black: 7.4% (327 students)International: 3.1% (138 students)Other: 2.9% (130 students)Asian: 2.6% (114 students)Total4,440

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at University of the Incarnate Word. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City San Antonio, Texas
Housing
Partly residential 1,217 beds available
Adult Learners
21% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

University of the Incarnate Word offers an extensive catalog of programs: 79 distinct programs across 26 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

12 Programs
16 Programs
4 Programs
5 Programs
4 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$339M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$80,160
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

340 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 80 24% $92,921
Associate Professors 122 36% $81,169
Assistant Professors 104 31% $74,448
Instructors 34 10% $63,295

Pros & Cons of University of the Incarnate Word

No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of the Incarnate Word is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
Best for: Based on the data, University of the Incarnate Word is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about University of the Incarnate Word

The questions families ask most about University of the Incarnate Word, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is University of the Incarnate Word hard to get into?
Not especially. University of the Incarnate Word admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 98.1%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at University of the Incarnate Word?
98.1% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does University of the Incarnate Word cost?
Budget around $22,775 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of the Incarnate Word worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $56,733 a year against a net price of $22,775, about 2.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of the Incarnate Word known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business Administration, Medicine. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of the Incarnate Word graduates earn?
About $56,733 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of the Incarnate Word accredited?
Yes. University of the Incarnate Word is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend University of the Incarnate Word?
4,440 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of the Incarnate Word?
52% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of the Incarnate Word a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is University of the Incarnate Word located?
University of the Incarnate Word is located in San Antonio, Texas.
What programs does University of the Incarnate Word offer?
79 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business Administration, Medicine. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of the Incarnate Word?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.