UPMC Mercy School of Nursing is a private nonprofit institution offering certificate degrees based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 308 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
46/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes16
Value28
Affordability31
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
UPMC Mercy School of Nursing admits 87.9% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
87.9%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether UPMC Mercy School of Nursing is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
7.8 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $33,159 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$16,190
Room & Board (on-campus)
$7,124
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,864
Books & Supplies
$2,727
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$9,455
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$9,455
Total Cost of Attendance
$35,713
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$32,063
$48,001 – $75,000
$32,450
$75,001 – $110,000
$35,713
Over $110,000
$35,331
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,75010%percentile
$5,50025%percentile
$14,750Medianpercentile
$14,80075%percentile
$20,00090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,000
↓ $2,750
No Pell $12,000
↓ $2,750
Dependent students $12,000
↓ $2,750
Independent students $15,250
↑ $500
Female students $12,000
↓ $2,750
Male students $10,000
↓ $4,750
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($14,750), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
72% of students who start here finish within six years, and 48% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
72%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
48%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $68,337 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$68,337
Earning > $25K
86%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
What this means:
Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$2.1 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 308 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
308
Part-Time
20%
First-Generation
32%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 58.4%180
Black 28.3%87
Other 8.4%26
Hispanic 2.0%6
Asian 1.6%5
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at UPMC Mercy School of Nursing. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Housing
Limited on-campus housing10 beds
Adult Learners
63%of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated
What You Can Study
UPMC Mercy School of Nursing offers
a focused set of programs:
1 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Pros & Cons of UPMC Mercy School of Nursing
No college is right for everyone. Here is where UPMC Mercy School of Nursing is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Best for:
Based on the data, UPMC Mercy School of Nursing is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about UPMC Mercy School of Nursing
The questions families ask most about UPMC Mercy School of Nursing, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is UPMC Mercy School of Nursing hard to get into?
Not especially. UPMC Mercy School of Nursing admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 87.9%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at UPMC Mercy School of Nursing?
87.9% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does UPMC Mercy School of Nursing cost?
Budget around $33,159 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is UPMC Mercy School of Nursing worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $68,337 a year against a net price of $33,159, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is UPMC Mercy School of Nursing known for?
Mostly Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do UPMC Mercy School of Nursing graduates earn?
About $68,337 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is UPMC Mercy School of Nursing accredited?
Yes. UPMC Mercy School of Nursing is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.
How many students attend UPMC Mercy School of Nursing?
308 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at UPMC Mercy School of Nursing?
72% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is UPMC Mercy School of Nursing a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is UPMC Mercy School of Nursing located?
UPMC Mercy School of Nursing is located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
What programs does UPMC Mercy School of Nursing offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at UPMC Mercy School of Nursing?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Pennsylvania
Other colleges in Pennsylvania share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.