Wayne County Community College District is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Detroit, Michigan. It enrolls 7,423 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
55/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes15
Value52
Affordability53
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, Wayne County Community College District admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,656 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$3,112
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$4,067
Room & Board (off-campus)
$7,618
Books & Supplies
$2,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,574
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,401
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$7,641
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,139
$48,001 – $75,000
$8,058
$75,001 – $110,000
$10,306
Over $110,000
$14,026
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$1,50010%percentile
$2,67925%percentile
$12,062Medianpercentile
$10,22875%percentile
$19,17390%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,550
↓ $4,512
No Pell $5,952
↓ $6,110
Dependent students $5,186
↓ $6,876
Independent students $8,893
↓ $3,169
Female students $7,490
↓ $4,572
Male students $7,188
↓ $4,874
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,229, less than completers ($12,062), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
4% of students who start here finish within six years, and 58% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
4%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
58%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $29,079 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$29,079
Earning > $25K
49%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$27,900
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$31,700
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$26,600
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$34,900
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$38,600
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
24.0 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Concerning. Only 45% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 7,423 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 54% are the first in their family to go to college, and 78% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
7,423
Part-Time
78%
First-Generation
54%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Black 63.7%4,729
White 22.6%1,674
Other 7.1%530
Hispanic 2.3%174
International 2.0%149
Asian 0.7%51
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Wayne County Community College District. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Wayne County Community College District offers
an extensive catalog of programs:
44 distinct programs across
19 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 25 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
25:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,182
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$82,165
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
67 instructional faculty across 1 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Instructors
67
100%
$82,165
Pros & Cons of Wayne County Community College District
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Wayne County Community College District is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
First-year retention is below typical
Below-average post-graduation earnings
Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for:
Based on the data, Wayne County Community College District is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.
Frequently Asked Questions about Wayne County Community College District
The questions families ask most about Wayne County Community College District, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Wayne County Community College District hard to get into?
Not especially. Wayne County Community College District admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Wayne County Community College District?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Wayne County Community College District cost?
Budget around $7,656 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Wayne County Community College District worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $29,079 a year against a net price of $7,656, about 3.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Wayne County Community College District known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Ground Transportation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Wayne County Community College District graduates earn?
About $29,079 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Wayne County Community College District accredited?
Yes. Wayne County Community College District is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Wayne County Community College District?
7,423 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Wayne County Community College District?
4% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Wayne County Community College District a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Wayne County Community College District located?
Wayne County Community College District is located in Detroit, Michigan.
What programs does Wayne County Community College District offer?
44 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Ground Transportation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Wayne County Community College District?
25 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Michigan
Other colleges in Michigan share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.