Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 58/100

Welch College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Gallatin, Tennessee

About Welch College

Thinking about Welch College, a college in Tennessee where more students graduate in Theology than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Welch College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Gallatin, Tennessee. It enrolls 226 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
39.1%
Net Price
$25,263
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,198
Enrollment
226
Student : Faculty
9:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 63
Value 20
Affordability 25
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Welch College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $25,263 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$25,263
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
28%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
53%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$21,400
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,668
Room & Board (off-campus)
$7,980
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$7,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,500
Total Cost of Attendance
$37,072

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $25,590
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $18,289
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $23,219
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $26,783
  • Over $110,000
    $27,512

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,000
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$19,500
Median percentile
$26,000
75% percentile
$36,156
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,000 ↓ $7,500
No Pell $9,625 ↓ $9,875
Dependent students $12,000 ↓ $7,500
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $10,000
Female students $11,758 ↓ $7,742
Male students $11,038 ↓ $8,462
Pell recipients: 18.2% (3,550 students)No Pell: 14.6% (2,847 students)Dependent students: 18.2% (3,550 students)Independent students: 14.4% (2,810 students)Female students: 17.8% (3,478 students)Male students: 16.7% (3,265 students)Overall Median$19,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,210, less than completers ($19,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

39% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
39%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,198 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,198
Earning > $25K
69%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$36,000$38,000$41,000$43,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$24,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$37,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $12,900, about 35% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 31.7 pts across 6 years
44.2%1yr69.8%3yr73.2%5yr75.9%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 226 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
226
Part-Time
25%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 73.0% 165
Hispanic 12.4% 28
Black 3.1% 7
Other 3.1% 7
Asian 1.3% 3
International 1.3% 3
White: 73.0% (165 students)Hispanic: 12.4% (28 students)Black: 3.1% (7 students)Other: 3.1% (7 students)Asian: 1.3% (3 students)International: 1.3% (3 students)Total226

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Welch College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Gallatin, Tennessee
Housing
Strongly residential 235 beds for 226 students
Adult Learners
17% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Welch College offers a varied set of programs: 22 distinct programs across 9 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
  • Music $43K ($26K–$59K)

Faculty & Resources

There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$23M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$40,415
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

20 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 6 30% $46,415
Associate Professors 2 10% $35,784
Assistant Professors 3 15% $31,605
Instructors 9 45% $40,382

Pros & Cons of Welch College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Welch College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Welch College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Welch College

The questions families ask most about Welch College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Welch College cost?
Budget around $25,263 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Welch College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,198 a year against a net price of $25,263, about 1.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Welch College known for?
Mostly Bible/Biblical Studies, Pastoral Counseling, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Welch College graduates earn?
About $42,198 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Welch College accredited?
Yes. Welch College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Welch College?
226 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Welch College?
39% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Welch College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Welch College located?
Welch College is located in Gallatin, Tennessee.
What programs does Welch College offer?
22 different programs, most commonly Bible/Biblical Studies, Pastoral Counseling, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Welch College?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.