Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 66/100

Wiley University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Marshall, Texas

About Wiley University

Thinking about Wiley University, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Wiley University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Marshall, Texas. It enrolls 712 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
26.5%
Net Price
$7,092
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,159
Enrollment
712
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
66/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 18
Value 73
Affordability 86
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Wiley University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,092 a year on average, it sits well below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$7,092
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
79%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
71%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$12,500
Room & Board (on-campus)
$5,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$5,000
Books & Supplies
$600
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,200
Total Cost of Attendance
$19,097

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $6,137
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $6,098
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,776
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,251
  • Over $110,000
    $14,097

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,440
10% percentile
$9,500
25% percentile
$24,989
Median percentile
$31,190
75% percentile
$44,442
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $17,817 ↓ $7,172
No Pell $11,182 ↓ $13,807
Dependent students $14,308 ↓ $10,681
Independent students $20,750 ↓ $4,239
Female students $16,726 ↓ $8,263
Male students $17,500 ↓ $7,489
Pell recipients: 18.1% (4,530 students)No Pell: 11.4% (2,843 students)Dependent students: 14.6% (3,638 students)Independent students: 21.1% (5,276 students)Female students: 17.0% (4,253 students)Male students: 17.8% (4,449 students)Overall Median$24,989
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $14,011, less than completers ($24,989), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

26% of students who start here finish within six years, and 41% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
26%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
41%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,159 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,159
Earning > $25K
56%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$27,000$29,000$31,000$32,000$34,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$33,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 11.9 pts across 6 years
37.1%1yr43.7%3yr54.6%5yr49%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 49% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 712 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 42% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
712
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
42%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 84.6% 602
White 6.7% 48
International 2.5% 18
Other 2.0% 14
Asian 0.8% 6
Black: 84.6% (602 students)White: 6.7% (48 students)International: 2.5% (18 students)Other: 2.0% (14 students)Asian: 0.8% (6 students)Total712

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Wiley University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Marshall, Texas
Housing
Strongly residential 700 beds for 712 students
Adult Learners
13% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Interdisciplinary Studies graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Wiley University offers a focused set of programs: 8 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$35M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,439
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

28 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Associate Professors 4 14% $60,571
Assistant Professors 17 61% $52,169
Instructors 7 25% $40,447

Pros & Cons of Wiley University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Wiley University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Wiley University is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Wiley University

The questions families ask most about Wiley University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Wiley University cost?
Budget around $7,092 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Wiley University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,159 a year against a net price of $7,092, about 4.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Wiley University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Criminal Justice. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Wiley University graduates earn?
About $33,159 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Wiley University accredited?
Yes. Wiley University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Wiley University?
712 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Wiley University?
26% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Wiley University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Wiley University located?
Wiley University is located in Marshall, Texas.
What programs does Wiley University offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Criminal Justice. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Wiley University?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.