Public Associate Fair 50/100

Blinn College District

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Brenham, Texas

About Blinn College District

Thinking about Blinn College District, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Blinn College District is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Brenham, Texas. It enrolls 15,535 students (a very large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
8%
Net Price
$10,844
Median Earnings (10yr)
$46,318
Enrollment
15,535
Student : Faculty
36:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
50/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 6
Value 59
Affordability 32
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Blinn College District admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,844 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,844
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
21%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
18%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,890
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$11,370
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,848
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,968
Books & Supplies
$1,288
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,252

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$11,500
Median percentile
$10,000
75% percentile
$15,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,500 ↓ $6,000
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $6,000
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $6,000
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,000
Female students $5,749 ↓ $5,751
Male students $5,500 ↓ $6,000
Pell recipients: 14.8% (1,698 students)No Pell: 14.8% (1,698 students)Dependent students: 14.8% (1,698 students)Independent students: 25.5% (2,933 students)Female students: 15.4% (1,775 students)Male students: 14.8% (1,698 students)Overall Median$11,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($11,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

8% of students who start here finish within six years, and 50% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
8%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
50%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $46,318 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$46,318
Earning > $25K
71%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$37,000$39,000$42,000$45,000$48,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$35,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$54,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$38,300

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$44,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$54,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $19,100, about 35% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.5 pts across 6 years
60.9%1yr65.4%3yr73.7%5yr74.4%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 74% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 15,535 students, a sprawling student community. Worth knowing: 40% are the first in their family to go to college, and 48% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
15,535
Part-Time
48%
First-Generation
40%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 56.6% 8,794
Hispanic 24.5% 3,800
Black 7.7% 1,188
Other 4.5% 701
Asian 4.0% 615
International 0.8% 121
White: 56.6% (8,794 students)Hispanic: 24.5% (3,800 students)Black: 7.7% (1,188 students)Other: 4.5% (701 students)Asian: 4.0% (615 students)International: 0.8% (121 students)Total15,535

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Blinn College District. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Brenham, Texas
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 2,033 beds
Adult Learners
7% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Blinn College District offers an extensive catalog of programs: 56 distinct programs across 24 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
8 Programs
7 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
5 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 36 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
36:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$2,958
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$32M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$63,404
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

321 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 321 100% $63,404

Pros & Cons of Blinn College District

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Blinn College District is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Blinn College District is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Blinn College District

The questions families ask most about Blinn College District, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Blinn College District hard to get into?
Not especially. Blinn College District admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Blinn College District?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Blinn College District cost?
Budget around $10,844 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Blinn College District worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $46,318 a year against a net price of $10,844, about 4.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Blinn College District known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business, Agriculture. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Blinn College District graduates earn?
About $46,318 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Blinn College District accredited?
Yes. Blinn College District is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Blinn College District?
15,535 students. Large, so expect big lectures and more independence in finding your own footing. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Blinn College District?
8% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Blinn College District a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Blinn College District located?
Blinn College District is located in Brenham, Texas.
What programs does Blinn College District offer?
56 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business, Agriculture. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Blinn College District?
36 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.