Public Associate Good 59/100

Frank Phillips College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Borger, Texas

About Frank Phillips College

Thinking about Frank Phillips College, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Frank Phillips College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Borger, Texas. It enrolls 623 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
23.8%
Net Price
$7,953
Median Earnings (10yr)
$37,179
Enrollment
623
Student : Faculty
24:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
59/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 26
Value 63
Affordability 45
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Frank Phillips College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,953 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$7,953
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
26%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
4%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$3,712
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$4,882
Room & Board (on-campus)
$4,974
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,874
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,300
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,300
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,877

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,940
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,179
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,332

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,300
10% percentile
$2,750
25% percentile
$9,500
Median percentile
$10,500
75% percentile
$18,662
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,606 ↓ $2,894
No Pell $5,000 ↓ $4,500
Dependent students $5,257 ↓ $4,243
Independent students $9,500 —
Female students $5,558 ↓ $3,942
Male students $5,264 ↓ $4,236
Pell recipients: 17.8% (1,688 students)No Pell: 13.4% (1,277 students)Dependent students: 14.1% (1,343 students)Independent students: 25.5% (2,427 students)Female students: 14.9% (1,420 students)Male students: 14.2% (1,345 students)Overall Median$9,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,106, less than completers ($9,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

24% of students who start here finish within six years, and 41% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
24%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
41%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $37,179 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$37,179
Earning > $25K
59%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$33,000$35,000$36,000$38,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$47,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $19,600, about 42% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 10.1 pts across 6 years
46.2%1yr50.7%3yr56.3%5yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 56% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 623 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 49% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
623
Part-Time
28%
First-Generation
49%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 49.1% 306
White 35.5% 221
International 5.1% 32
Black 3.5% 22
Other 3.1% 19
Asian 0.5% 3
Hispanic: 49.1% (306 students)White: 35.5% (221 students)International: 5.1% (32 students)Black: 3.5% (22 students)Other: 3.1% (19 students)Asian: 0.5% (3 students)Total623

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Frank Phillips College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Borger, Texas
Housing
Partly residential 228 beds available
Adult Learners
8% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Frank Phillips College offers a focused set of programs: 9 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 24 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
24:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,080
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$2.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$45,586
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

29 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 10 34% $51,618
Associate Professors 4 14% $49,439
Assistant Professors 6 21% $51,878
Instructors 9 31% $32,977

Pros & Cons of Frank Phillips College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Frank Phillips College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Frank Phillips College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Frank Phillips College

The questions families ask most about Frank Phillips College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Frank Phillips College hard to get into?
Not especially. Frank Phillips College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Frank Phillips College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Frank Phillips College cost?
Budget around $7,953 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Frank Phillips College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $37,179 a year against a net price of $7,953, about 4.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Frank Phillips College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Frank Phillips College graduates earn?
About $37,179 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Frank Phillips College accredited?
Yes. Frank Phillips College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Frank Phillips College?
623 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Frank Phillips College?
24% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Frank Phillips College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Frank Phillips College located?
Frank Phillips College is located in Borger, Texas.
What programs does Frank Phillips College offer?
9 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Frank Phillips College?
24 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.