Cottey College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Nevada, Missouri. It enrolls 254 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
63/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes31
Value45
Affordability79
Selectivity47
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Cottey College admits 69.2% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.
Acceptance Rate
69.2%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Cottey College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
20.3 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $13,805 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$27,562
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,240
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,281
Books & Supplies
$1,225
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,670
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,670
Total Cost of Attendance
$39,269
Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$14,093
$30,001 – $48,000
$10,634
$48,001 – $75,000
$12,063
$75,001 – $110,000
$15,732
Over $110,000
$18,130
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,75010%percentile
$5,50025%percentile
$19,043Medianpercentile
$12,00075%percentile
$19,50090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,000
↓ $8,043
No Pell $11,014
↓ $8,029
Dependent students $11,000
↓ $8,043
Independent students $11,811
↓ $7,232
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,609, less than completers ($19,043), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
49% of students who start here finish within six years, and 64% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
49%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,422 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,422
Earning > $25K
56%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
17.3 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 84% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 254 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 31% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
254
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
31%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 69.7%177
Hispanic 12.6%32
Black 6.7%17
International 5.1%13
Other 4.3%11
Asian 1.6%4
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Cottey College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Cottey College offers
a varied set of programs:
17 distinct programs across
12 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 6 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
6:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$127M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$61,975
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
37 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
11
30%
$69,113
Associate Professors
14
38%
$62,393
Assistant Professors
12
32%
$54,945
Pros & Cons of Cottey College
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Cottey College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Best for:
Based on the data, Cottey College is a fit for
students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Cottey College
The questions families ask most about Cottey College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Cottey College hard to get into?
Admissions at Cottey College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 69.2%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Cottey College?
69.2% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Cottey College cost?
Budget around $13,805 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Cottey College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,422 a year against a net price of $13,805, about 2.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Cottey College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Biology, Experimental Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Cottey College graduates earn?
About $35,422 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Cottey College accredited?
Yes. Cottey College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Cottey College?
254 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Cottey College?
49% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Cottey College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Cottey College located?
Cottey College is located in Nevada, Missouri.
What programs does Cottey College offer?
17 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Biology, Experimental Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Cottey College?
6 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Missouri
Other colleges in Missouri share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.