Public Graduate Strong 75/100

CUNY Graduate School and University Center

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

New York, New York

About CUNY Graduate School and University Center

Thinking about CUNY Graduate School and University Center, a college in New York where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

CUNY Graduate School and University Center is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in New York, New York. It enrolls 3,254 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
68.5%
Graduation
47.9%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$65,991
Enrollment
3,254
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
75/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 64
Selectivity 64

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

CUNY Graduate School and University Center admits 68.5% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
68.5%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. CUNY Graduate School and University Center has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
38%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
14%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$7,235
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$15,185
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,260
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,216

Application fee: $65 (one-time, due at submission)


Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,210
25% percentile
$12,584
Median percentile
$12,577
75% percentile
$21,987
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $10,000 ↓ $2,584
No Pell $9,350 ↓ $3,234
Dependent students $5,851 ↓ $6,733
Independent students $10,000 ↓ $2,584
Female students $9,527 ↓ $3,057
Male students $10,000 ↓ $2,584
Pell recipients: 18.3% (2,299 students)No Pell: 17.1% (2,150 students)Dependent students: 10.7% (1,345 students)Independent students: 18.3% (2,299 students)Female students: 17.4% (2,191 students)Male students: 18.3% (2,299 students)Overall Median$12,584
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,750, less than completers ($12,584), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

48% of students who start here finish within six years. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
48%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $65,991 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$65,991
Earning > $25K
85%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$65,500$66,500$67,500$68,500$69,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 20.4 pts across 6 years
51%1yr58.7%3yr71.4%5yr
What this signals: Strong. 71% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,254 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college, and 67% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,254
Part-Time
67%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 33.6% 1,092
Black 29.2% 951
White 18.3% 595
Asian 12.8% 415
Other 4.5% 147
International 1.7% 54
Hispanic: 33.6% (1,092 students)Black: 29.2% (951 students)White: 18.3% (595 students)Asian: 12.8% (415 students)Other: 4.5% (147 students)International: 1.7% (54 students)Total3,254

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at CUNY Graduate School and University Center. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City New York, New York
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
79% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

CUNY Graduate School and University Center offers an extensive catalog of programs: 109 distinct programs across 21 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

16 Programs
7 Programs
5 Programs
2 Programs
7 Programs
5 Programs
7 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$62,392
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$80M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$124,015
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

245 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 152 62% $134,499
Associate Professors 55 22% $115,677
Assistant Professors 29 12% $97,126
Lecturers 9 4% $84,550

Pros & Cons of CUNY Graduate School and University Center

No college is right for everyone. Here is where CUNY Graduate School and University Center is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, CUNY Graduate School and University Center is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings.

Frequently Asked Questions about CUNY Graduate School and University Center

The questions families ask most about CUNY Graduate School and University Center, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center hard to get into?
Admissions at CUNY Graduate School and University Center are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 68.5%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at CUNY Graduate School and University Center?
68.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is CUNY Graduate School and University Center known for?
Mostly Public Health, Nursing, Radio, Television & Digital Media. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do CUNY Graduate School and University Center graduates earn?
About $65,991 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center accredited?
Yes. CUNY Graduate School and University Center is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend CUNY Graduate School and University Center?
3,254 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at CUNY Graduate School and University Center?
48% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is CUNY Graduate School and University Center a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is CUNY Graduate School and University Center located?
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is located in New York, New York.
What programs does CUNY Graduate School and University Center offer?
109 different programs, most commonly Public Health, Nursing, Radio, Television & Digital Media. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at CUNY Graduate School and University Center?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.