Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 59/100

Dakota Wesleyan University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Mitchell, South Dakota

About Dakota Wesleyan University

Thinking about Dakota Wesleyan University, a college in South Dakota where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Dakota Wesleyan University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Mitchell, South Dakota. It enrolls 670 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
73.4%
Graduation
54.5%
Net Price
$19,735
Median Earnings (10yr)
$53,728
Enrollment
670
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
59/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 32
Value 51
Affordability 43
Selectivity 43

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Dakota Wesleyan University admits 73.4% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
73.4%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Dakota Wesleyan University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 6.1 pts since 2019
66.7%201964.2%202075.7%202174.8%202272.8%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $19,735 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$19,735
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
27%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
73%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$33,790
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,100
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,000
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,850
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$43,864

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $15,251
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,750
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $15,927
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $19,048
  • Over $110,000
    $22,416

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,730
10% percentile
$8,250
25% percentile
$27,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$37,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $20,215 ↓ $6,785
No Pell $17,557 ↓ $9,443
Dependent students $19,500 ↓ $7,500
Independent students $18,924 ↓ $8,076
Female students $20,000 ↓ $7,000
Male students $15,250 ↓ $11,750
Pell recipients: 18.1% (4,897 students)No Pell: 15.8% (4,254 students)Dependent students: 17.5% (4,724 students)Independent students: 17.0% (4,585 students)Female students: 17.9% (4,845 students)Male students: 13.7% (3,695 students)Overall Median$27,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,250, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

55% of students who start here finish within six years, and 72% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
55%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
72%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $53,728 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$53,728
Earning > $25K
85%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$49,000$50,000$52,000$53,000$54,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$37,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$44,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$35,600

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$41,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$45,900

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,900, about 15% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 1.7 pts across 6 years
79.2%1yr82.8%3yr87.9%5yr81%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 81% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 670 students, a small, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
670
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
29%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 80.2% 537
Hispanic 7.0% 47
Other 6.6% 44
International 3.4% 23
Black 2.1% 14
Asian 0.5% 3
White: 80.2% (537 students)Hispanic: 7.0% (47 students)Other: 6.6% (44 students)International: 3.4% (23 students)Black: 2.1% (14 students)Asian: 0.5% (3 students)Total670

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Dakota Wesleyan University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Mitchell, South Dakota
Housing
Strongly residential 512 beds for 670 students
Adult Learners
10% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Dakota Wesleyan University offers a varied set of programs: 29 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

5 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$68M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$61,148
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

45 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 16 36% $63,453
Associate Professors 10 22% $65,561
Assistant Professors 14 31% $58,572
Instructors 3 7% $58,603
Lecturers 2 4% $42,500

Pros & Cons of Dakota Wesleyan University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Dakota Wesleyan University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Dakota Wesleyan University is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Dakota Wesleyan University

The questions families ask most about Dakota Wesleyan University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Dakota Wesleyan University hard to get into?
Admissions at Dakota Wesleyan University are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 73.4%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Dakota Wesleyan University?
73.4% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Dakota Wesleyan University cost?
Budget around $19,735 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Dakota Wesleyan University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $53,728 a year against a net price of $19,735, about 2.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Dakota Wesleyan University known for?
Mostly Business & Management, Other, Nursing, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Dakota Wesleyan University graduates earn?
About $53,728 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Dakota Wesleyan University accredited?
Yes. Dakota Wesleyan University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Dakota Wesleyan University?
670 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Dakota Wesleyan University?
55% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Dakota Wesleyan University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Dakota Wesleyan University located?
Dakota Wesleyan University is located in Mitchell, South Dakota.
What programs does Dakota Wesleyan University offer?
29 different programs, most commonly Business & Management, Other, Nursing, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Dakota Wesleyan University?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.