Private For-Profit Bachelor's Good 68/100

Gnomon

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

North Hollywood, California

About Gnomon

Thinking about Gnomon, a college in California where more students graduate in Visual & Performing Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Gnomon is a private for-profit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in North Hollywood, California. It enrolls 294 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
41.8%
Graduation
70.7%
Net Price
$51,949
Median Earnings (10yr)
$114,785
Enrollment
294
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
68/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 93
Value 29
Affordability 2
Selectivity 88

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Gnomon admits 41.8% of applicants, which makes it genuinely competitive, so your application needs to be strong.

Acceptance Rate
41.8%
Selective
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Gnomon is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↓ 3.2 pts since 2019
42.9%201950%202044.8%202147.6%202239.7%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $51,949 a year on average, it sits above what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$51,949
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
11%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
18%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$37,635
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,930
Total Cost of Attendance
$54,947

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $49,286
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $50,947
  • Over $110,000
    $54,947

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$7,667
10% percentile
$13,667
25% percentile
$28,332
Median percentile
$28,332
75% percentile
$44,041
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $29,832 ↑ $1,500
No Pell $27,636 ↓ $696
Dependent students $27,000 ↓ $1,332
Independent students $28,332 —
Female students $28,332 —
Male students $28,332 —
Pell recipients: 17.6% (4,987 students)No Pell: 16.3% (4,620 students)Dependent students: 15.9% (4,514 students)Independent students: 16.7% (4,737 students)Female students: 16.7% (4,737 students)Male students: 16.7% (4,737 students)Overall Median$28,332
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $20,000, close to what completers borrow ($28,332) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

71% of students who start here finish within six years, and 89% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
71%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
89%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $114,785 a year, well above the national median. Strong earnings, though the field studied drives much of that. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$114,785
Earning > $25K
80%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$85,000$95,000$105,000$110,000$120,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$2.2 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 294 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
294
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
International 34.4% 101
White 23.1% 68
Asian 14.3% 42
Other 11.9% 35
Hispanic 9.2% 27
Black 1.4% 4
International: 34.4% (101 students)White: 23.1% (68 students)Asian: 14.3% (42 students)Other: 11.9% (35 students)Hispanic: 9.2% (27 students)Black: 1.4% (4 students)Total294

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Gnomon. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City North Hollywood, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
53% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Gnomon offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$101,603
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Gnomon

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Gnomon is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • High net price compared to most US colleges
  • Selective admissions, solid academic profile expected
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Gnomon is a fit for students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Gnomon

The questions families ask most about Gnomon, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Gnomon hard to get into?
Gnomon is selective but not extremely competitive. Its acceptance rate is 41.8%. Strong academic credentials and a thoughtful application materially improve your odds.
What is the acceptance rate at Gnomon?
41.8% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Gnomon cost?
Budget around $51,949 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Gnomon worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $114,785 a year against a net price of $51,949, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Gnomon known for?
Mostly Visual & Performing Arts, Design. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Gnomon graduates earn?
About $114,785 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Gnomon accredited?
Yes. Gnomon is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Gnomon?
294 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Gnomon?
71% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Gnomon a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Gnomon located?
Gnomon is located in North Hollywood, California.
What programs does Gnomon offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Visual & Performing Arts, Design. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Gnomon?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.