Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 59/100

Heidelberg University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Tiffin, Ohio

About Heidelberg University

Thinking about Heidelberg University, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Heidelberg University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Tiffin, Ohio. It enrolls 915 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
85.8%
Graduation
46.9%
Net Price
$20,556
Median Earnings (10yr)
$48,466
Enrollment
915
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
59/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 42
Value 36
Affordability 54
Selectivity 31

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Heidelberg University admits 85.8% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
85.8%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Heidelberg University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 7.1 pts since 2019
74.8%201981.1%202086.4%202171.3%202267.7%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,556 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,556
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
37%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
91%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$33,650
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,300
Room & Board (off-campus)
$6,750
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,500
Total Cost of Attendance
$47,025

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $18,217
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,974
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $14,556
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $21,376
  • Over $110,000
    $26,286

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$7,250
25% percentile
$27,000
Median percentile
$29,000
75% percentile
$34,408
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $21,500 ↓ $5,500
No Pell $19,500 ↓ $7,500
Dependent students $20,500 ↓ $6,500
Independent students $14,750 ↓ $12,250
Female students $21,500 ↓ $5,500
Male students $19,750 ↓ $7,250
Pell recipients: 18.3% (4,940 students)No Pell: 16.6% (4,481 students)Dependent students: 17.4% (4,711 students)Independent students: 12.6% (3,389 students)Female students: 18.3% (4,940 students)Male students: 16.8% (4,538 students)Overall Median$27,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,852, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

47% of students who start here finish within six years, and 76% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
47%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,466 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,466
Earning > $25K
82%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,000$43,000$45,000$47,000$50,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$38,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$51,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$35,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$44,700

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $13,400, about 26% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 21.0 pts across 6 years
65.5%1yr75.2%3yr83.4%5yr86.5%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 86% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 915 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
915
Part-Time
1%
First-Generation
32%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 82.6% 756
Black 11.4% 104
Hispanic 2.4% 22
Other 2.3% 21
Asian 0.2% 2
White: 82.6% (756 students)Black: 11.4% (104 students)Hispanic: 2.4% (22 students)Other: 2.3% (21 students)Asian: 0.2% (2 students)Total915

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Heidelberg University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Tiffin, Ohio
Housing
Strongly residential 920 beds for 915 students
Adult Learners
1% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Social Sciences graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Heidelberg University offers a varied set of programs: 32 distinct programs across 16 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
5 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$148M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$60,677
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

52 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 12 23% $69,111
Associate Professors 13 25% $65,195
Assistant Professors 21 40% $57,962
Instructors 6 12% $43,520

Pros & Cons of Heidelberg University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Heidelberg University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Heidelberg University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Heidelberg University

The questions families ask most about Heidelberg University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Heidelberg University hard to get into?
Not especially. Heidelberg University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 85.8%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Heidelberg University?
85.8% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Heidelberg University cost?
Budget around $20,556 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Heidelberg University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,466 a year against a net price of $20,556, about 2.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Heidelberg University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business Administration, Criminology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Heidelberg University graduates earn?
About $48,466 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Heidelberg University accredited?
Yes. Heidelberg University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Heidelberg University?
915 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Heidelberg University?
47% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Heidelberg University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Heidelberg University located?
Heidelberg University is located in Tiffin, Ohio.
What programs does Heidelberg University offer?
32 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business Administration, Criminology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Heidelberg University?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.