Public Associate Good 62/100

Holyoke Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Holyoke, Massachusetts

About Holyoke Community College

Thinking about Holyoke Community College, a college in Massachusetts where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Holyoke Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Holyoke, Massachusetts. It enrolls 3,591 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
24.3%
Net Price
$8,068
Median Earnings (10yr)
$37,277
Enrollment
3,591
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 26
Value 63
Affordability 63
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Holyoke Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,068 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$8,068
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
43%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
24%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$5,988
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$10,932
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,330
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,710
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,043

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $6,522
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $6,637
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,688
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $9,415
  • Over $110,000
    $13,014

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$600
10% percentile
$1,664
25% percentile
$8,250
Median percentile
$8,855
75% percentile
$15,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $3,490 ↓ $4,760
No Pell $7,000 ↓ $1,250
Dependent students $5,326 ↓ $2,924
Independent students $4,000 ↓ $4,250
Female students $4,484 ↓ $3,766
Male students $5,500 ↓ $2,750
Pell recipients: 11.7% (966 students)No Pell: 23.5% (1,938 students)Dependent students: 17.9% (1,474 students)Independent students: 13.4% (1,107 students)Female students: 15.0% (1,241 students)Male students: 18.5% (1,523 students)Overall Median$8,250
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $3,600, less than completers ($8,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

24% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
24%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $37,277 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$37,277
Earning > $25K
60%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$33,000$35,000$36,000$38,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$32,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$30,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$41,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,000, about 18% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.0 pts across 6 years
57%1yr59.4%3yr64.7%5yr70%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 70% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,591 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college, and 66% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,591
Part-Time
66%
First-Generation
47%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 48.8% 1,752
Hispanic 33.4% 1,198
Black 7.9% 282
Other 4.4% 157
Asian 2.5% 91
International 1.0% 36
White: 48.8% (1,752 students)Hispanic: 33.4% (1,198 students)Black: 7.9% (282 students)Other: 4.4% (157 students)Asian: 2.5% (91 students)International: 1.0% (36 students)Total3,591

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Holyoke Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Holyoke, Massachusetts
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
37% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Holyoke Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 42 distinct programs across 24 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
4 Programs
6 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,416
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$7.6M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$68,344
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

100 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 71 71% $71,332
Associate Professors 10 10% $60,613
Assistant Professors 12 12% $62,236
Instructors 7 7% $59,553

Pros & Cons of Holyoke Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Holyoke Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Holyoke Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Holyoke Community College

The questions families ask most about Holyoke Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Holyoke Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Holyoke Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Holyoke Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Holyoke Community College cost?
Budget around $8,068 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Holyoke Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $37,277 a year against a net price of $8,068, about 4.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Holyoke Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Holyoke Community College graduates earn?
About $37,277 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Holyoke Community College accredited?
Yes. Holyoke Community College is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Holyoke Community College?
3,591 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Holyoke Community College?
24% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Holyoke Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Holyoke Community College located?
Holyoke Community College is located in Holyoke, Massachusetts.
What programs does Holyoke Community College offer?
42 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Holyoke Community College?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.