Public Bachelor's Strong 84/100

Indian River State College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Fort Pierce, Florida

About Indian River State College

Thinking about Indian River State College, a college in Florida where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Indian River State College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Fort Pierce, Florida. It enrolls 11,822 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
36%
Net Price
$3,815
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,315
Enrollment
11,822
Student : Faculty
27:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
84/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 68
Value 95
Affordability 68
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Indian River State College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $3,815 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$3,815
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
4%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,764
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$10,201
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,015
Books & Supplies
$1,620
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,324
Total Cost of Attendance
$11,576

Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $2,594
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $3,525
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $5,641
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $7,285
  • Over $110,000
    $10,109

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$2,550
25% percentile
$8,023
Median percentile
$9,000
75% percentile
$17,750
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,750 ↓ $2,273
No Pell $4,475 ↓ $3,548
Dependent students $4,500 ↓ $3,523
Independent students $7,500 ↓ $523
Female students $5,600 ↓ $2,423
Male students $4,500 ↓ $3,523
Pell recipients: 17.8% (1,427 students)No Pell: 13.8% (1,111 students)Dependent students: 13.9% (1,117 students)Independent students: 23.2% (1,861 students)Female students: 17.3% (1,390 students)Male students: 13.9% (1,117 students)Overall Median$8,023
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,500, less than completers ($8,023), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

36% of students who start here finish within six years. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
36%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,315 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,315
Earning > $25K
63%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$35,000$36,000$38,000$39,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$31,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$40,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,400

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$35,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$39,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,100, about 23% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 6.5 pts across 6 years
53.5%1yr58.4%3yr61.6%5yr60%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 60% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 11,822 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college, and 54% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
11,822
Part-Time
54%
First-Generation
48%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 50.2% 5,933
White 29.8% 3,519
Black 12.3% 1,448
Other 2.5% 291
International 2.0% 236
Asian 1.2% 138
Hispanic: 50.2% (5,933 students)White: 29.8% (3,519 students)Black: 12.3% (1,448 students)Other: 2.5% (291 students)International: 2.0% (236 students)Asian: 1.2% (138 students)Total11,822

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Indian River State College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Fort Pierce, Florida
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
24% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Indian River State College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 62 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
16 Programs
8 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 27 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
27:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,601
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$30M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$74,234
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

211 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 48 23% $94,158
Associate Professors 42 20% $85,011
Assistant Professors 39 18% $74,600
Instructors 71 34% $57,464
No Rank 11 5% $53,091

Pros & Cons of Indian River State College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Indian River State College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Indian River State College is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Indian River State College

The questions families ask most about Indian River State College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Indian River State College cost?
Budget around $3,815 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Indian River State College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,315 a year against a net price of $3,815, about 10.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Indian River State College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Indian River State College graduates earn?
About $38,315 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Indian River State College accredited?
Yes. Indian River State College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Indian River State College?
11,822 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Indian River State College?
36% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Indian River State College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Indian River State College located?
Indian River State College is located in Fort Pierce, Florida.
What programs does Indian River State College offer?
62 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Indian River State College?
27 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.