Public Bachelor's Strong 73/100

Lake Superior State University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Sault Ste Marie, Michigan

About Lake Superior State University

Thinking about Lake Superior State University, a college in Michigan where more students graduate in Criminal Justice than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lake Superior State University is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan. It enrolls 1,325 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
38.4%
Net Price
$12,822
Median Earnings (10yr)
$49,045
Enrollment
1,325
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
73/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 73
Value 61
Affordability 37
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Lake Superior State University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Lake Superior State University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 10.8 pts since 2019
57.2%201969.5%202073.3%202176.9%202268%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,822 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,822
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
27%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
37%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$14,890
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,459
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,130
Books & Supplies
$2,000
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,670
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,220
Total Cost of Attendance
$27,154

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,516
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,226
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $10,422
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $14,541
  • Over $110,000
    $20,321

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,000
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$23,250
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$35,250
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $15,250 ↓ $8,000
No Pell $13,353 ↓ $9,897
Dependent students $15,000 ↓ $8,250
Independent students $12,500 ↓ $10,750
Female students $15,272 ↓ $7,978
Male students $13,724 ↓ $9,526
Pell recipients: 17.9% (4,166 students)No Pell: 15.7% (3,648 students)Dependent students: 17.6% (4,098 students)Independent students: 14.7% (3,415 students)Female students: 17.9% (4,172 students)Male students: 16.1% (3,750 students)Overall Median$23,250
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,500, less than completers ($23,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

38% of students who start here finish within six years, and 74% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
38%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
74%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $49,045 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$49,045
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,000$44,000$46,000$48,000$50,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$35,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$48,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$45,700

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$46,700

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $12,900, about 27% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 12.4 pts across 6 years
68.1%1yr75%3yr74.2%5yr80.5%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 81% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,325 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 33% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,325
Part-Time
13%
First-Generation
33%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 70.0% 927
Other 12.0% 159
International 8.2% 108
Black 3.0% 40
Hispanic 1.9% 25
Asian 0.8% 10
White: 70.0% (927 students)Other: 12.0% (159 students)International: 8.2% (108 students)Black: 3.0% (40 students)Hispanic: 1.9% (25 students)Asian: 0.8% (10 students)Total1,325

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lake Superior State University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Sault Ste Marie, Michigan
Housing
Strongly residential 1,108 beds for 1,325 students
Adult Learners
12% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lake Superior State University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 56 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
10 Programs
4 Programs
3 Programs
4 Programs
4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$11,688
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$35M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$68,753
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

83 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 22 27% $80,426
Associate Professors 17 20% $69,723
Assistant Professors 40 48% $63,393
Instructors 4 5% $54,023

Pros & Cons of Lake Superior State University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lake Superior State University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Lake Superior State University is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Superior State University

The questions families ask most about Lake Superior State University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Lake Superior State University cost?
Budget around $12,822 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lake Superior State University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $49,045 a year against a net price of $12,822, about 3.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lake Superior State University known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Lake Superior State University graduates earn?
About $49,045 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lake Superior State University accredited?
Yes. Lake Superior State University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Lake Superior State University?
1,325 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Lake Superior State University?
38% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lake Superior State University a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Lake Superior State University located?
Lake Superior State University is located in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan.
What programs does Lake Superior State University offer?
56 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lake Superior State University?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.