Private For-Profit Certificate Good 65/100

Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

South Plainfield, New Jersey

About Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield

Thinking about Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield, a college in New Jersey where more students graduate in Precision Production than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in South Plainfield, New Jersey. It enrolls 335 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
61.6%
Net Price
$31,575
Median Earnings (10yr)
$46,396
Enrollment
335
Student : Faculty
22:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Differs by Program

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
65/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 78
Value 16
Affordability 39
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $31,575 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$31,575
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
53%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
72%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $29,960
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $32,637
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $30,617
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $34,310
  • Over $110,000
    $34,187

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,662
25% percentile
$11,730
Median percentile
$14,750
75% percentile
$18,250
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,833 ↓ $1,897
No Pell $9,500 ↓ $2,230
Dependent students $9,500 ↓ $2,230
Independent students $12,125 ↑ $395
Female students $9,500 ↓ $2,230
Male students $9,589 ↓ $2,141
Pell recipients: 16.4% (1,921 students)No Pell: 15.8% (1,856 students)Dependent students: 15.8% (1,856 students)Independent students: 20.2% (2,369 students)Female students: 15.8% (1,856 students)Male students: 16.0% (1,873 students)Overall Median$11,730
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($11,730), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

62% of students who start here finish within six years, and 72% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
62%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
72%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $46,396 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$46,396
Earning > $25K
71%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,000$43,000$45,000$46,000$48,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$25,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$38,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$40,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$44,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $13,800, about 36% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 4.4 pts across 6 years
48%1yr49.8%3yr46.6%5yr52.4%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 52% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 335 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
335
Part-Time
19%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 36.1% 121
White 32.8% 110
Black 22.7% 76
Other 4.2% 14
Asian 3.3% 11
Hispanic: 36.1% (121 students)White: 32.8% (110 students)Black: 22.7% (76 students)Other: 4.2% (14 students)Asian: 3.3% (11 students)Total335

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb South Plainfield, New Jersey
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
34% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Differs by Program scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 22 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
22:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield

The questions families ask most about Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield hard to get into?
Not especially. Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield cost?
Budget around $31,575 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $46,396 a year against a net price of $31,575, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield known for?
Mostly Precision Metal Working, Vehicle Maintenance, Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield graduates earn?
About $46,396 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield accredited?
Yes. Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield?
335 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield?
62% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield located?
Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield is located in South Plainfield, New Jersey.
What programs does Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Precision Metal Working, Vehicle Maintenance, Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield?
22 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.