Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 52/100

Newberry College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Newberry, South Carolina

About Newberry College

Thinking about Newberry College, a college in South Carolina where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Newberry College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Newberry, South Carolina. It enrolls 1,479 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
89.8%
Graduation
47.2%
Net Price
$21,656
Median Earnings (10yr)
$48,040
Enrollment
1,479
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 25
Value 29
Affordability 63
Selectivity 14

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Newberry College admits 89.8% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
89.8%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Newberry College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 12.0 pts since 2019
62.8%201956.6%202057.4%202175.3%202274.8%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $21,656 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$21,656
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
49%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
73%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$31,100
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,500
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,720
Books & Supplies
$900
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,050
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,160
Total Cost of Attendance
$46,442

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $19,887
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $19,229
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,786
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $23,619
  • Over $110,000
    $23,578

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,000
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$26,805
Median percentile
$28,250
75% percentile
$39,466
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,000 ↓ $10,805
No Pell $15,125 ↓ $11,680
Dependent students $16,000 ↓ $10,805
Independent students $15,259 ↓ $11,546
Female students $18,750 ↓ $8,055
Male students $14,250 ↓ $12,555
Pell recipients: 16.8% (4,496 students)No Pell: 15.9% (4,250 students)Dependent students: 16.8% (4,496 students)Independent students: 16.0% (4,288 students)Female students: 19.7% (5,269 students)Male students: 14.9% (4,005 students)Overall Median$26,805
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,500, less than completers ($26,805), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

47% of students who start here finish within six years, and 70% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
47%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
70%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,040 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,040
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$38,000$41,000$44,000$46,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$34,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$34,800

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$34,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$43,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 19.8 pts across 6 years
56.4%1yr66%3yr76.4%5yr76.1%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,479 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 31% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,479
Part-Time
2%
First-Generation
31%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 51.7% 764
Black 35.1% 519
International 2.5% 37
Hispanic 1.8% 27
Other 1.7% 25
Asian 1.0% 14
White: 51.7% (764 students)Black: 35.1% (519 students)International: 2.5% (37 students)Hispanic: 1.8% (27 students)Other: 1.7% (25 students)Asian: 1.0% (14 students)Total1,479

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Newberry College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Newberry, South Carolina
Housing
Strongly residential 1,212 beds for 1,479 students
Adult Learners
4% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Newberry College offers a varied set of programs: 28 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
4 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$36M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,956
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

76 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 15 20% $65,960
Associate Professors 25 33% $55,399
Assistant Professors 31 41% $61,304
Instructors 5 7% $39,770

Pros & Cons of Newberry College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Newberry College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Newberry College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Newberry College

The questions families ask most about Newberry College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Newberry College hard to get into?
Not especially. Newberry College admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 89.8%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Newberry College?
89.8% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Newberry College cost?
Budget around $21,656 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Newberry College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,040 a year against a net price of $21,656, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Newberry College known for?
Mostly Kinesiology, Business Administration, Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Newberry College graduates earn?
About $48,040 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Newberry College accredited?
Yes. Newberry College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Newberry College?
1,479 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Newberry College?
47% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Newberry College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Newberry College located?
Newberry College is located in Newberry, South Carolina.
What programs does Newberry College offer?
28 different programs, most commonly Kinesiology, Business Administration, Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Newberry College?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.