Public Bachelor's Strong 82/100

Shasta College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Redding, California

About Shasta College

Thinking about Shasta College, a college in California where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Shasta College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Redding, California. It enrolls 6,128 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
2%
Net Price
$2,878
Median Earnings (10yr)
$39,269
Enrollment
6,128
Student : Faculty
26:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
82/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 60
Value 97
Affordability 70
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Shasta College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $2,878 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$2,878
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
36%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
3%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$1,197
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,853
Room & Board (on-campus)
$15,844
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,930
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,930
Total Cost of Attendance
$13,915

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $2,107
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $2,654
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $5,373
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,157
  • Over $110,000
    $8,861

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$14,250
Median percentile
$10,137
75% percentile
$16,235
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 ↓ $4,750
No Pell $8,500 ↓ $5,750
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $8,750
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $4,750
Female students $9,500 ↓ $4,750
Male students $9,500 ↓ $4,750
Pell recipients: 18.3% (2,603 students)No Pell: 16.3% (2,329 students)Dependent students: 10.6% (1,507 students)Independent students: 18.3% (2,603 students)Female students: 18.3% (2,603 students)Male students: 18.3% (2,603 students)Overall Median$14,250
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($14,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

2% of students who start here finish within six years, and 100% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
2%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
100%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,269 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,269
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$34,000$36,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$30,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,700, about 22% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$13.6 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 6,128 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college, and 50% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
6,128
Part-Time
50%
First-Generation
53%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 58.3% 3,575
Hispanic 20.5% 1,254
Other 10.7% 658
Asian 4.3% 266
Black 2.3% 138
White: 58.3% (3,575 students)Hispanic: 20.5% (1,254 students)Other: 10.7% (658 students)Asian: 4.3% (266 students)Black: 2.3% (138 students)Total6,128

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Shasta College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize Suburb Redding, California
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 126 beds
Adult Learners
35% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Shasta College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 52 distinct programs across 24 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
6 Programs
2 Programs
7 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 26 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
26:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$3,874
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$90,972
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

135 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 135 100% $90,972

Pros & Cons of Shasta College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Shasta College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Strong first-year retention
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Shasta College is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Shasta College

The questions families ask most about Shasta College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Shasta College cost?
Budget around $2,878 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Shasta College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,269 a year against a net price of $2,878, about 13.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Shasta College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Biological and Physical Sciences. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Shasta College graduates earn?
About $39,269 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Shasta College accredited?
Yes. Shasta College is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend Shasta College?
6,128 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Shasta College?
2% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Shasta College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Shasta College located?
Shasta College is located in Redding, California.
What programs does Shasta College offer?
52 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Biological and Physical Sciences. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Shasta College?
26 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.