Public Associate Good 69/100

Southwestern Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Creston, Iowa

About Southwestern Community College

Thinking about Southwestern Community College, a college in Iowa where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Southwestern Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Creston, Iowa. It enrolls 729 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
42.4%
Net Price
$9,871
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,129
Enrollment
729
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 67
Value 56
Affordability 37
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Southwestern Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,871 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$9,871
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
22%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$8,064
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,316
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,910
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,910
Books & Supplies
$1,386
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,802
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,439
Total Cost of Attendance
$16,951

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,137
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,440
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $10,118
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,444
  • Over $110,000
    $14,449

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$10,975
Median percentile
$12,000
75% percentile
$19,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,873 ↓ $2,102
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $5,475
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $5,475
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $1,475
Female students $8,750 ↓ $2,225
Male students $5,500 ↓ $5,475
Pell recipients: 20.3% (2,232 students)No Pell: 12.6% (1,384 students)Dependent students: 12.6% (1,384 students)Independent students: 21.8% (2,390 students)Female students: 20.1% (2,201 students)Male students: 12.6% (1,384 students)Overall Median$10,975
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,975), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

42% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
42%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,129 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,129
Earning > $25K
68%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$36,500$37,500$38,500$39,500$40,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$32,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$37,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$31,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$34,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$41,700

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $5,500, about 15% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 15.8 pts across 6 years
55.4%1yr59.7%3yr63.9%5yr71.2%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 71% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 729 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 39% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
729
Part-Time
27%
First-Generation
39%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 80.4% 586
Hispanic 7.5% 55
Black 4.7% 34
International 3.8% 28
Other 2.3% 17
Asian 0.6% 4
White: 80.4% (586 students)Hispanic: 7.5% (55 students)Black: 4.7% (34 students)International: 3.8% (28 students)Other: 2.3% (17 students)Asian: 0.6% (4 students)Total729

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Southwestern Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Creston, Iowa
Housing
Partly residential 243 beds available
Adult Learners
14% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Southwestern Community College offers a varied set of programs: 31 distinct programs across 15 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
2 Programs
4 Programs
4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$13,503
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$2.8M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,564
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

39 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 39 100% $50,564

Pros & Cons of Southwestern Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Southwestern Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Southwestern Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Southwestern Community College

The questions families ask most about Southwestern Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Southwestern Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Southwestern Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Southwestern Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Southwestern Community College cost?
Budget around $9,871 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southwestern Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,129 a year against a net price of $9,871, about 4.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Southwestern Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Southwestern Community College graduates earn?
About $40,129 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southwestern Community College accredited?
Yes. Southwestern Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Southwestern Community College?
729 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Southwestern Community College?
42% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Southwestern Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Southwestern Community College located?
Southwestern Community College is located in Creston, Iowa.
What programs does Southwestern Community College offer?
31 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Southwestern Community College?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.