Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 63/100

University of Northwestern Ohio

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

About University of Northwestern Ohio

Thinking about University of Northwestern Ohio, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

University of Northwestern Ohio is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Lima, Ohio. It enrolls 2,494 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
45.1%
Net Price
$21,807
Median Earnings (10yr)
$50,968
Enrollment
2,494
Student : Faculty
25:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
63/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 62
Value 35
Affordability 34
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

University of Northwestern Ohio does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $21,807 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$21,807
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
58%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$13,875
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,601
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,601
Books & Supplies
$1,350
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,836
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,836
Total Cost of Attendance
$26,266

Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $16,009
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $16,997
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $20,391
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $24,031
  • Over $110,000
    $25,190

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,167
10% percentile
$5,333
25% percentile
$17,084
Median percentile
$23,134
75% percentile
$31,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,251 ↓ $4,833
No Pell $10,750 ↓ $6,334
Dependent students $11,587 ↓ $5,497
Independent students $18,250 ↑ $1,166
Female students $15,024 ↓ $2,060
Male students $11,000 ↓ $6,084
Pell recipients: 15.5% (2,654 students)No Pell: 13.6% (2,329 students)Dependent students: 14.7% (2,510 students)Independent students: 23.1% (3,954 students)Female students: 19.1% (3,255 students)Male students: 13.9% (2,383 students)Overall Median$17,084
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,584, less than completers ($17,084), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

45% of students who start here finish within six years, and 61% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
45%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
61%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $50,968 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$50,968
Earning > $25K
79%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$45,000$47,000$48,000$50,000$52,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$44,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$36,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$42,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$46,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $14,600, about 33% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 11.2 pts across 6 years
64.6%1yr67.6%3yr71.2%5yr75.9%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,494 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,494
Part-Time
7%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 78.8% 1,964
Hispanic 6.1% 153
Black 5.1% 126
International 4.7% 117
Other 1.2% 31
Asian 0.8% 20
White: 78.8% (1,964 students)Hispanic: 6.1% (153 students)Black: 5.1% (126 students)International: 4.7% (117 students)Other: 1.2% (31 students)Asian: 0.8% (20 students)Total2,494

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at University of Northwestern Ohio. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small Suburb Lima, Ohio
Housing
Mostly residential 1,684 beds on campus
Adult Learners
7% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

University of Northwestern Ohio offers a varied set of programs: 28 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
8 Programs
4 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 25 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
25:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$88M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,085
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

84 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 8 10% $57,523
Associate Professors 9 11% $46,073
Assistant Professors 5 6% $46,370
Instructors 62 74% $50,007

Pros & Cons of University of Northwestern Ohio

No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of Northwestern Ohio is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical

Frequently Asked Questions about University of Northwestern Ohio

The questions families ask most about University of Northwestern Ohio, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does University of Northwestern Ohio cost?
Budget around $21,807 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Northwestern Ohio worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $50,968 a year against a net price of $21,807, about 2.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of Northwestern Ohio known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of Northwestern Ohio graduates earn?
About $50,968 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Northwestern Ohio accredited?
Yes. University of Northwestern Ohio is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend University of Northwestern Ohio?
2,494 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of Northwestern Ohio?
45% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of Northwestern Ohio a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is University of Northwestern Ohio located?
University of Northwestern Ohio is located in Lima, Ohio.
What programs does University of Northwestern Ohio offer?
28 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of Northwestern Ohio?
25 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.