Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 51/100

The University of Olivet

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Olivet, Michigan

About The University of Olivet

Thinking about The University of Olivet, a college in Michigan where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

The University of Olivet is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Olivet, Michigan. It enrolls 892 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
83.3%
Graduation
43.7%
Net Price
$21,393
Median Earnings (10yr)
$47,907
Enrollment
892
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 10
Value 30
Affordability 64
Selectivity 28

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

The University of Olivet admits 83.3% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
83.3%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether The University of Olivet is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

85.3%202088.5%202184.6%202297.1%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $21,393 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$21,393
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
49%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
78%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$34,068
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,567
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,567
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,766
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,766
Total Cost of Attendance
$47,069

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $19,656
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $20,442
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $20,564
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $21,730
  • Over $110,000
    $24,068

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$27,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$40,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,642 ↓ $14,358
No Pell $13,843 ↓ $13,157
Dependent students $12,250 ↓ $14,750
Independent students $17,500 ↓ $9,500
Female students $15,250 ↓ $11,750
Male students $12,000 ↓ $15,000
Pell recipients: 15.1% (4,089 students)No Pell: 16.6% (4,477 students)Dependent students: 14.7% (3,962 students)Independent students: 21.0% (5,660 students)Female students: 18.3% (4,932 students)Male students: 14.4% (3,881 students)Overall Median$27,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

44% of students who start here finish within six years, and 60% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
44%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
60%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $47,907 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$47,907
Earning > $25K
76%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,000$44,000$45,000$47,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$36,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$45,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$36,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$41,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$48,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,700, about 19% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 22.8 pts across 6 years
59.6%1yr65.3%3yr72.1%5yr82.4%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 82% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 892 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 33% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
892
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
33%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 65.8% 587
Black 17.9% 160
Hispanic 7.4% 66
Other 7.3% 65
Asian 0.6% 5
International 0.2% 2
White: 65.8% (587 students)Black: 17.9% (160 students)Hispanic: 7.4% (66 students)Other: 7.3% (65 students)Asian: 0.6% (5 students)International: 0.2% (2 students)Total892

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at The University of Olivet. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Olivet, Michigan
Housing
Strongly residential 798 beds for 892 students
Adult Learners
4% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Recreation & Fitness graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

The University of Olivet offers a varied set of programs: 26 distinct programs across 15 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
3 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$43M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$62,035
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

46 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 18 39% $68,806
Associate Professors 13 28% $60,206
Assistant Professors 15 33% $55,497

Pros & Cons of The University of Olivet

No college is right for everyone. Here is where The University of Olivet is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, The University of Olivet is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about The University of Olivet

The questions families ask most about The University of Olivet, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is The University of Olivet hard to get into?
Not especially. The University of Olivet admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 83.3%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at The University of Olivet?
83.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does The University of Olivet cost?
Budget around $21,393 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is The University of Olivet worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $47,907 a year against a net price of $21,393, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is The University of Olivet known for?
Mostly Kinesiology, Business Administration, Biology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do The University of Olivet graduates earn?
About $47,907 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is The University of Olivet accredited?
Yes. The University of Olivet is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend The University of Olivet?
892 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at The University of Olivet?
44% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is The University of Olivet a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is The University of Olivet located?
The University of Olivet is located in Olivet, Michigan.
What programs does The University of Olivet offer?
26 different programs, most commonly Kinesiology, Business Administration, Biology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at The University of Olivet?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.