Private For-Profit Graduate Fair 52/100

Academy of Art University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

San Francisco, California

About Academy of Art University

Thinking about Academy of Art University, a college in California where more students graduate in Visual & Performing Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Academy of Art University is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in San Francisco, California. It enrolls 3,587 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
18.8%
Net Price
$40,613
Median Earnings (10yr)
$39,008
Enrollment
3,587
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 55
Value 5
Affordability 28
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Academy of Art University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $40,613 a year on average, it sits above what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$40,613
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
41%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
49%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$30,736
Room & Board (on-campus)
$32,766
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,213
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,968
Total Cost of Attendance
$48,036

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $37,668
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $36,340
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $43,874
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $43,953
  • Over $110,000
    $44,082

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$31,000
Median percentile
$31,000
75% percentile
$48,687
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,500 ↓ $19,500
No Pell $9,500 ↓ $21,500
Dependent students $10,751 ↓ $20,249
Independent students $11,651 ↓ $19,349
Female students $11,000 ↓ $20,000
Male students $10,981 ↓ $20,019
Pell recipients: 17.6% (5,452 students)No Pell: 14.5% (4,504 students)Dependent students: 16.4% (5,097 students)Independent students: 17.8% (5,524 students)Female students: 16.8% (5,215 students)Male students: 16.8% (5,206 students)Overall Median$31,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($31,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

19% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
19%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,008 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,008
Earning > $25K
61%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,000$32,000$35,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$42,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$51,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$44,800

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$48,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$49,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,000, about 17% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 17.6 pts across 6 years
49.6%1yr55.6%3yr61.5%5yr67.2%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 67% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,587 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college, and 47% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,587
Part-Time
47%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 28.0% 1,003
Hispanic 21.0% 753
Black 13.5% 483
International 11.5% 413
Other 7.8% 281
Asian 7.3% 260
White: 28.0% (1,003 students)Hispanic: 21.0% (753 students)Black: 13.5% (483 students)International: 11.5% (413 students)Other: 7.8% (281 students)Asian: 7.3% (260 students)Total3,587

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Academy of Art University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City San Francisco, California
Housing
Mostly residential 1,488 beds on campus
Adult Learners
44% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Computer Science graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Academy of Art University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 50 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

18 Programs
4 Programs
4 Programs
3 Programs
4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$73,778
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

121 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 121 100% $73,778

Pros & Cons of Academy of Art University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Academy of Art University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • High net price compared to most US colleges
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Academy of Art University is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Academy of Art University

The questions families ask most about Academy of Art University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Academy of Art University cost?
Budget around $40,613 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Academy of Art University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,008 a year against a net price of $40,613, about 1.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Academy of Art University known for?
Mostly Computer Software & Media, Computer Software & Media, Drafting/Design Engineering Tech. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Academy of Art University graduates earn?
About $39,008 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Academy of Art University accredited?
Yes. Academy of Art University is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
How many students attend Academy of Art University?
3,587 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Academy of Art University?
19% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Academy of Art University a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Academy of Art University located?
Academy of Art University is located in San Francisco, California.
What programs does Academy of Art University offer?
50 different programs, most commonly Computer Software & Media, Computer Software & Media, Drafting/Design Engineering Tech. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Academy of Art University?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.