Private Nonprofit Graduate Strong 72/100

Bob Jones University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Greenville, South Carolina

About Bob Jones University

Thinking about Bob Jones University, a college in South Carolina where more students graduate in Education than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Bob Jones University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Greenville, South Carolina. It enrolls 2,005 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
59.7%
Net Price
$16,641
Median Earnings (10yr)
$44,354
Enrollment
2,005
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
72/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 84
Value 40
Affordability 38
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Bob Jones University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $16,641 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$16,641
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
33%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
24%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$24,470
Room & Board (on-campus)
$10,380
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,440
Books & Supplies
$1,340
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,760
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,760
Total Cost of Attendance
$36,580

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $14,287
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $13,936
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $15,414
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $17,997
  • Over $110,000
    $23,972

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$16,585
Median percentile
$22,650
75% percentile
$27,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,000 ↓ $3,585
No Pell $11,249 ↓ $5,336
Dependent students $12,725 ↓ $3,860
Independent students $5,516 ↓ $11,069
Female students $12,500 ↓ $4,085
Male students $12,272 ↓ $4,313
Pell recipients: 19.3% (3,205 students)No Pell: 16.7% (2,774 students)Dependent students: 18.9% (3,138 students)Independent students: 8.2% (1,360 students)Female students: 18.6% (3,082 students)Male students: 18.2% (3,026 students)Overall Median$16,585
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,500, less than completers ($16,585), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

60% of students who start here finish within six years, and 82% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
60%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
82%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $44,354 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$44,354
Earning > $25K
73%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,500$41,500$42,500$43,500$45,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 5.8 pts across 6 years
88.9%1yr92.3%3yr94.7%5yr
What this signals: Excellent. 95% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,005 students, a mid-sized community.

Total Enrolled
2,005
Part-Time
5%
First-Generation
14%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 74.6% 1,495
Hispanic 8.8% 177
International 8.3% 166
Asian 4.1% 82
Black 1.7% 33
Other 1.5% 30
White: 74.6% (1,495 students)Hispanic: 8.8% (177 students)International: 8.3% (166 students)Asian: 4.1% (82 students)Black: 1.7% (33 students)Other: 1.5% (30 students)Total2,005

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Bob Jones University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Greenville, South Carolina
Housing
Strongly residential 3,998 beds for 2,005 students
Adult Learners
4% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Bob Jones University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 60 distinct programs across 24 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
4 Programs
8 Programs
7 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$79M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,531
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

171 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 52 30% $69,466
Associate Professors 60 35% $59,257
Assistant Professors 51 30% $49,725
Instructors 8 5% $38,149

Pros & Cons of Bob Jones University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Bob Jones University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
CONS
  • No clear weaknesses in the data.

Frequently Asked Questions about Bob Jones University

The questions families ask most about Bob Jones University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Bob Jones University cost?
Budget around $16,641 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bob Jones University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $44,354 a year against a net price of $16,641, about 2.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Bob Jones University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Nursing, Kinesiology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Bob Jones University graduates earn?
About $44,354 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bob Jones University accredited?
Yes. Bob Jones University is accredited by the Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools.
How many students attend Bob Jones University?
2,005 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Bob Jones University?
60% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Bob Jones University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Bob Jones University located?
Bob Jones University is located in Greenville, South Carolina.
What programs does Bob Jones University offer?
60 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Nursing, Kinesiology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Bob Jones University?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.