Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 52/100

Chestnut Hill College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

About Chestnut Hill College

Thinking about Chestnut Hill College, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Psychology than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Chestnut Hill College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 815 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
74.5%
Graduation
57.5%
Net Price
$27,970
Median Earnings (10yr)
$52,015
Enrollment
815
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 22
Value 15
Affordability 54
Selectivity 54

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Chestnut Hill College admits 74.5% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
74.5%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Chestnut Hill College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 14.2 pts since 2019
64.9%201971.1%202097.9%202198.2%202279.1%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $27,970 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$27,970
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
52%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
78%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$39,870
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,600
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,693
Books & Supplies
$400
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,600
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$13,024
Total Cost of Attendance
$58,168

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $28,011
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $24,447
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $22,714
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $28,168
  • Over $110,000
    $33,175

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,000
10% percentile
$10,159
25% percentile
$26,389
Median percentile
$28,665
75% percentile
$38,833
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $20,834 ↓ $5,555
No Pell $19,500 ↓ $6,889
Dependent students $18,300 ↓ $8,089
Independent students $23,897 ↓ $2,492
Female students $21,523 ↓ $4,866
Male students $19,000 ↓ $7,389
Pell recipients: 16.9% (4,468 students)No Pell: 15.8% (4,182 students)Dependent students: 14.9% (3,924 students)Independent students: 19.4% (5,125 students)Female students: 17.5% (4,616 students)Male students: 15.4% (4,075 students)Overall Median$26,389
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $11,416, less than completers ($26,389), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

58% of students who start here finish within six years, and 64% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
58%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $52,015 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$52,015
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$44,000$46,000$49,000$51,000$53,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$44,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$50,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$35,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$50,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $5,900, about 12% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 33.4 pts across 6 years
47.2%1yr54.6%3yr62.3%5yr80.6%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 81% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 815 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
815
Part-Time
14%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 32.3% 263
White 30.1% 245
Hispanic 13.4% 109
International 3.1% 25
Other 2.1% 17
Asian 2.0% 16
Black: 32.3% (263 students)White: 30.1% (245 students)Hispanic: 13.4% (109 students)International: 3.1% (25 students)Other: 2.1% (17 students)Asian: 2.0% (16 students)Total815

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Chestnut Hill College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Housing
Mostly residential 478 beds on campus
Adult Learners
27% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Chestnut Hill College offers a varied set of programs: 38 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
3 Programs
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$57M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$52,639
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

60 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 5 8% $75,921
Associate Professors 19 32% $52,958
Assistant Professors 28 47% $48,035
Instructors 8 13% $53,445

Pros & Cons of Chestnut Hill College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Chestnut Hill College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Chestnut Hill College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Chestnut Hill College

The questions families ask most about Chestnut Hill College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Chestnut Hill College hard to get into?
Admissions at Chestnut Hill College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 74.5%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Chestnut Hill College?
74.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Chestnut Hill College cost?
Budget around $27,970 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Chestnut Hill College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $52,015 a year against a net price of $27,970, about 1.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Chestnut Hill College known for?
Mostly Counseling Psychology, Human, Public Safety. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Chestnut Hill College graduates earn?
About $52,015 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Chestnut Hill College accredited?
Yes. Chestnut Hill College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Chestnut Hill College?
815 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Chestnut Hill College?
58% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Chestnut Hill College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Chestnut Hill College located?
Chestnut Hill College is located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Chestnut Hill College offer?
38 different programs, most commonly Counseling Psychology, Human, Public Safety. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Chestnut Hill College?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.