Public Associate Strong 71/100

Lake Area Technical College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Watertown, South Dakota

About Lake Area Technical College

Thinking about Lake Area Technical College, a college in South Dakota where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lake Area Technical College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Watertown, South Dakota. It enrolls 1,812 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
67.9%
Net Price
$15,979
Median Earnings (10yr)
$45,473
Enrollment
1,812
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 86
Value 38
Affordability 30
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Lake Area Technical College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $15,979 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$15,979
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
27%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
57%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$6,718
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,000
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,750
Total Cost of Attendance
$19,637

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $11,193
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $12,971
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $14,129
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $18,118
  • Over $110,000
    $18,230

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,166
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$14,167
75% percentile
$20,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $10,000 ↓ $2,000
No Pell $9,500 ↓ $2,500
Dependent students $9,854 ↓ $2,146
Independent students $11,556 ↓ $444
Female students $9,500 ↓ $2,500
Male students $11,000 ↓ $1,000
Pell recipients: 16.3% (1,954 students)No Pell: 15.5% (1,856 students)Dependent students: 16.0% (1,926 students)Independent students: 18.8% (2,258 students)Female students: 15.5% (1,856 students)Male students: 17.9% (2,149 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

68% of students who start here finish within six years, and 82% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
68%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
82%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $45,473 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$45,473
Earning > $25K
75%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$43,500$44,000$44,500$45,500$46,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$47,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$40,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$44,300

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $17,500, about 37% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 6.2 pts across 6 years
80.5%1yr82%3yr86.2%5yr86.7%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 87% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,812 students, a mid-sized community.

Total Enrolled
1,812
Part-Time
19%
First-Generation
29%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 88.0% 1,595
Other 3.2% 57
Hispanic 2.8% 50
Black 1.9% 34
Asian 1.0% 18
International 0.1% 2
White: 88.0% (1,595 students)Other: 3.2% (57 students)Hispanic: 2.8% (50 students)Black: 1.9% (34 students)Asian: 1.0% (18 students)International: 0.1% (2 students)Total1,812

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lake Area Technical College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Watertown, South Dakota
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
12% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lake Area Technical College offers a varied set of programs: 33 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

11 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
2 Programs
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$10,591
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$25M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$67,175
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

109 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 109 100% $67,175

Pros & Cons of Lake Area Technical College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lake Area Technical College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
Best for: Based on the data, Lake Area Technical College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Area Technical College

The questions families ask most about Lake Area Technical College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Lake Area Technical College hard to get into?
Not especially. Lake Area Technical College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Lake Area Technical College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Lake Area Technical College cost?
Budget around $15,979 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lake Area Technical College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $45,473 a year against a net price of $15,979, about 2.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lake Area Technical College known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Agricultural Business and Management, Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Lake Area Technical College graduates earn?
About $45,473 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lake Area Technical College accredited?
Yes. Lake Area Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Lake Area Technical College?
1,812 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Lake Area Technical College?
68% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lake Area Technical College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Lake Area Technical College located?
Lake Area Technical College is located in Watertown, South Dakota.
What programs does Lake Area Technical College offer?
33 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Agricultural Business and Management, Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lake Area Technical College?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.