Public Graduate Good 65/100

Midwestern State University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Wichita Falls, Texas

About Midwestern State University

Thinking about Midwestern State University, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Midwestern State University is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Wichita Falls, Texas. It enrolls 4,087 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
93.5%
Graduation
51.7%
Net Price
$11,656
Median Earnings (10yr)
$55,747
Enrollment
4,087
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
65/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 17
Value 90
Affordability 79
Selectivity 13

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Midwestern State University admits 93.5% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
93.5%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Midwestern State University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 8.1 pts since 2019
79.3%201971%202094.6%202192.4%202287.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,656 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,656
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
41%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
40%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$10,580
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$12,530
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,124
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,124
Books & Supplies
$600
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,036
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,036
Total Cost of Attendance
$22,652

Application fee: $40 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $8,856
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,886
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $11,445
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,365
  • Over $110,000
    $18,988

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$21,030
Median percentile
$25,000
75% percentile
$33,750
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $14,500 ↓ $6,530
No Pell $12,250 ↓ $8,780
Dependent students $12,500 ↓ $8,530
Independent students $15,000 ↓ $6,030
Female students $13,701 ↓ $7,329
Male students $12,500 ↓ $8,530
Pell recipients: 18.0% (3,790 students)No Pell: 15.2% (3,202 students)Dependent students: 15.5% (3,268 students)Independent students: 18.6% (3,921 students)Female students: 17.0% (3,581 students)Male students: 15.5% (3,268 students)Overall Median$21,030
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,500, less than completers ($21,030), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

52% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
52%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $55,747 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$55,747
Earning > $25K
82%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$45,000$48,000$51,000$54,000$57,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$41,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$53,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$45,300

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$46,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,900, about 22% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.7 pts across 6 years
64.5%1yr70.3%3yr75.4%5yr81.2%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 81% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 4,087 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 38% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
4,087
Part-Time
18%
First-Generation
38%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 40.6% 1,658
Hispanic 27.8% 1,134
Black 14.4% 589
International 6.0% 246
Other 5.7% 234
Asian 2.9% 119
White: 40.6% (1,658 students)Hispanic: 27.8% (1,134 students)Black: 14.4% (589 students)International: 6.0% (246 students)Other: 5.7% (234 students)Asian: 2.9% (119 students)Total4,087

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Midwestern State University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Wichita Falls, Texas
Housing
Partly residential 1,536 beds available
Adult Learners
22% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Midwestern State University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 59 distinct programs across 20 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
9 Programs
4 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$12,296
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$101M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$73,493
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

232 instructional faculty across 6 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 49 21% $93,759
Associate Professors 67 29% $78,953
Assistant Professors 86 37% $66,782
Instructors 22 9% $50,139
Lecturers 7 3% $40,000
No Rank 1 0% $40,000

Pros & Cons of Midwestern State University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Midwestern State University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Midwestern State University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Midwestern State University

The questions families ask most about Midwestern State University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Midwestern State University hard to get into?
Not especially. Midwestern State University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 93.5%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Midwestern State University?
93.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Midwestern State University cost?
Budget around $11,656 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Midwestern State University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $55,747 a year against a net price of $11,656, about 4.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Midwestern State University known for?
Mostly Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Midwestern State University graduates earn?
About $55,747 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Midwestern State University accredited?
Yes. Midwestern State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Midwestern State University?
4,087 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Midwestern State University?
52% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Midwestern State University a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Midwestern State University located?
Midwestern State University is located in Wichita Falls, Texas.
What programs does Midwestern State University offer?
59 different programs, most commonly Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Midwestern State University?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.