Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 59/100

Stillman College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Tuscaloosa, Alabama

About Stillman College

Thinking about Stillman College, a college in Alabama where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Stillman College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. It enrolls 706 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
62.3%
Graduation
23.7%
Net Price
$15,258
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,421
Enrollment
706
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
59/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 9
Value 34
Affordability 86
Selectivity 72

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Stillman College admits 62.3% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
62.3%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Stillman College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 41.3 pts since 2019
33%201955.5%202075.8%202164.5%202274.2%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $15,258 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$15,258
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
76%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
67%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$12,126
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,640
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,824
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,704
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,888
Total Cost of Attendance
$26,107

Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $14,804
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $13,955
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $20,841
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,872
  • Over $110,000
    $19,343

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$29,067
Median percentile
$27,011
75% percentile
$41,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $17,000 ↓ $12,067
No Pell $10,250 ↓ $18,817
Dependent students $15,000 ↓ $14,067
Independent students $17,721 ↓ $11,346
Female students $19,000 ↓ $10,067
Male students $13,750 ↓ $15,317
Pell recipients: 18.3% (5,329 students)No Pell: 11.1% (3,213 students)Dependent students: 16.2% (4,702 students)Independent students: 19.1% (5,555 students)Female students: 20.5% (5,956 students)Male students: 14.8% (4,310 students)Overall Median$29,067
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $13,000, less than completers ($29,067), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

24% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
24%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,421 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,421
Earning > $25K
57%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,000$31,000$33,000$34,000$36,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$31,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$34,900

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$28,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$40,600

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$37,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.5 pts across 6 years
22.9%1yr35.8%3yr48.4%5yr39.5%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 39% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 706 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
706
Part-Time
10%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 88.8% 627
White 5.8% 41
International 3.3% 23
Other 0.4% 3
Hispanic 0.3% 2
Black: 88.8% (627 students)White: 5.8% (41 students)International: 3.3% (23 students)Other: 0.4% (3 students)Hispanic: 0.3% (2 students)Total706

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Stillman College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Housing
Mostly residential 360 beds on campus
Adult Learners
23% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Stillman College offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 11 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
  • Music $43K ($26K–$59K)

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$61M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$48,735
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

46 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 2 4% $41,400
Associate Professors 22 48% $50,652
Assistant Professors 13 28% $57,853
Instructors 9 20% $34,134

Pros & Cons of Stillman College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Stillman College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Stillman College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Stillman College

The questions families ask most about Stillman College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Stillman College hard to get into?
Admissions at Stillman College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 62.3%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Stillman College?
62.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Stillman College cost?
Budget around $15,258 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Stillman College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,421 a year against a net price of $15,258, about 2.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Stillman College known for?
Mostly Business, Biology, Teaching Specific Subjects. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Stillman College graduates earn?
About $35,421 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Stillman College accredited?
Yes. Stillman College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Stillman College?
706 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Stillman College?
24% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Stillman College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Stillman College located?
Stillman College is located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.
What programs does Stillman College offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Business, Biology, Teaching Specific Subjects. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Stillman College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.